The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2004, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 68
Watching a game and had a parent ask me about a play. I hope I told him correctly.

R1 on third, R2 on second, two outs, ball hit to F8 who is playing up. F8 throws to F2. R1 goes back to third where R2 is on third base. Both R1 and R2 are standing on third. F2 throws to F5. F5 tags R1. F5 rolls ball to circle and leaves the field thinking it was the third out. R1 runs home and scores winning run.

Parent ask why R1 was not out at third. My answer was that only R2 could be tag out if both were on base at the same time. I based my answer on the fact that both runners could not occupy the same base without risk of one being put out. R1 could not pass R2 and go to second but R2 could attempt to return to second.

Was I right in my explaination?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1