The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2001, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Sam,

Speaking ASA

Assuming the BR has already been put out at 1B and R1 is in contact with the base at the time of the tag, she is safe. The force was relieved when the BR was eliminated.

Other than an umpire deeming her actions intentional for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game, (Rule 8.3.D) there is no rule forbidding her action.

The "look back" rule would not be in effect unless R1 had stopped once the ball was in the pitcher's hand inside the circle and then failed to immediately commit to a direction.


__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1