The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   IP goes wild (ISF) (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/15040-ip-goes-wild-isf.html)

rayskie Fri Aug 20, 2004 08:13am

Hi there !
Got a question on the IP-rule , ISF-rules:

IP goes past the catcher. R1 goes to 2nd and tries for 3rd base, but is thrown out there by the catcher.

Do we have an out or is R1 sended back to 2nd base ?
----------------------------------------------------
Any infraction of Sections 1-8 is an Illegal Pitch.
1. The umpire shall give a delayed dead ball signal.
2. If the illegal pitch is not hit
(a) An extra ball is awarded to the batter (first base if ball four), and
(b) Runners are advanced one base.
EXCEPTION: If a runner legally advances on the illegal pitch (passed ball or wild throw by the catcher), any
extra bases obtained may be retained.
----------------------------------------------------

IRISHMAFIA Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rayskie
Hi there !
Got a question on the IP-rule , ISF-rules:

IP goes past the catcher. R1 goes to 2nd and tries for 3rd base, but is thrown out there by the catcher.

Do we have an out or is R1 sended back to 2nd base ?
----------------------------------------------------
Any infraction of Sections 1-8 is an Illegal Pitch.
1. The umpire shall give a delayed dead ball signal.
2. If the illegal pitch is not hit
(a) An extra ball is awarded to the batter (first base if ball four), and
(b) Runners are advanced one base.
EXCEPTION: If a runner legally advances on the illegal pitch (passed ball or wild throw by the catcher), any
extra bases obtained may be retained.
----------------------------------------------------

No option in ISF on IP. Runner is out and a ball on the batter.




rayskie Fri Aug 20, 2004 05:12pm

Thank you for the reply, Mike !
That's at least the way it should be done (what i think). But what about the book ? It doesn't say anything about what happens, if those "extra bases" are not retained.

Is that kind of your personal interpretation or something what's told by instructors in the US ?

Rayskie

ChampaignBlue Fri Aug 20, 2004 10:22pm

Delayed dead ball. Once the play you described was over and dead ball is declared R1 was no longer on the bases to retain 2nd because she had been called out. The only thing that could have saved her was an obstruction.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Aug 21, 2004 08:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by rayskie
Thank you for the reply, Mike !
That's at least the way it should be done (what i think). But what about the book ? It doesn't say anything about what happens, if those "extra bases" are not retained.

Is that kind of your personal interpretation or something what's told by instructors in the US ?

Rayskie

Think about it. They don't prove negatives in the book. If there isn't something defining specific situations, then it is business as usual.

An illegal pitch is a DDB and is assessed after all play is finished. ASA gives the coach an option, ISF does not.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1