The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 17, 2004, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25
Mens Orthodox - Softball Canada.

Runner on first, outs not important. Wild pitch caroms off the backstop and rolls toward the on deck batter. Runner was off with the pitch and catcher is slow to get the ball. On deck batter stops ball with his bat, picks it up and tosses it to the catches as the runner rounds second and continues on to third base.

Both partner and I declared "dead ball" when the ball was touched. We sent the runner back to second. Even though the touch by the on-deck batter was intentional, we felt that the defense did not have a play on the runner, either at second or third. The runner had already touched second when "dead ball" was declared.
__________________
Matt -- Ottawa Blue
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 17, 2004, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
I am not familiar with either Canadian orthodox or reformed (j/k) rules. With that being said, I would agree with your ruling.

I would also agree with you that the on-deck batter "intentionally" touched the ball, but I don't think he intentionally interfered with the play. It sounded like he just didn't have his head in the game.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1