The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Over Throw Rule ASA (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14891-over-throw-rule-asa.html)

mach3 Thu Aug 12, 2004 02:03am

Tom,

but in the ASA Casebook it is stated differently. See Play 8.3-10.
The play itselfe is different but in the ruling it reads
Quote:

The runner may return to a missed awarded base even if the runner is standing on a base beyond the missed awarded base.
That would mean, that the runner could correct his baserunning mistakes even if he touched an awarded base. Or am I missing something?

@ hahndwe: Yes in your last situation the runner can retouch the base. If he would not be allowed to do so, it would probably a case for Rule 10-1-L.

Raoul

Dakota Thu Aug 12, 2004 08:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by mach3
Tom,

but in the ASA Casebook it is stated differently.

Just a quick off-the-top answer, since I don't have time right now to check out the case play, but the rule on returning to retouch during a dead ball changed (this year, if memory serves) and it would be my guess that the case book has not caught up.

Dakota Thu Aug 12, 2004 08:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by mach3
hahndwe: Yes in your last situation the runner can retouch the base.
I agree, which is why the umpire needs to not be too quick to make the base award in this situation.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by mach3
Tom,

but in the ASA Casebook it is stated differently. See Play 8.3-10.
The play itselfe is different but in the ruling it reads
Quote:

The runner may return to a missed awarded base even if the runner is standing on a base beyond the missed awarded base.
That would mean, that the runner could correct his baserunning mistakes even if he touched an awarded base. Or am I missing something?

@ hahndwe: Yes in your last situation the runner can retouch the base. If he would not be allowed to do so, it would probably a case for Rule 10-1-L.

Raoul

I believe 8.3-10 is a different scenario. In this CP, the missed base is an awarded base, not one previously missed or left too soon prior to the award.


rwest Fri Aug 13, 2004 04:16pm

What if....
 
I know we've discussed this, but I just wanted to get clarification.

Suppose the batter hits a shot to right field. He misses first base on his way to second. The right fielder comes up throwing and overthrows second. The ball goes into DBT. The runner was between 1st and 2nd at the time of the throw. The runner is standing on 2nd when Blue indicates a dead ball and awards the runner 3rd. 2nd was his first awarded base, so he would only get 3rd, correct?
At this point I believe the runner can go back to retouch 1st. Correct?

Now for a couple of scenarios.....

Suppose after awarding the runner 3rd base, the runner steps off second toward third. At this point can he return to touch first? I'd say no, because he is now beyond the first awarded base.

What if the runner is on his way to third when the coach tells him to go back to 1st? Do you tell him he can't because he is beyond the 1st awarded base? Or do you say nothing, let the runner tag up (knowing its not legal) and then let the defense still appeal and bang the runner out? And then have to explain it to the coach or the assistant coach after you've tossed the head coach for unsportmanslike conduct!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1