The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 10, 2004, 05:05pm
SF SF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 186
I was watching a game today (right before I started working)and I was looking for some input by you more experience, knowledgable umps. Situation: ASA rules, 12U, bottom on the 6th (last inning), visitor leading 3-2 2 outs, base loaded. Batter hits a sharp grounder to F3, who makes a stab at the ball but misses, did not touch the ball, and it hits R3 and bounces back into the infield. R1 scores, R2 rounds third and heads home while BU is silently signalling an out. R2 scores easily as F3 throws to F5. PU calls the game and then BU runs in and they discuss the call. BU changes interference call, says there was no interference and they end the game. What would you call on this play?

[Edited by SF on Jul 10th, 2004 at 06:38 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 10, 2004, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Where was R3 when she was hit? If she was in FOUL territory, Dead ball, FOUL ball... If she was in Fair territory..2 things can happen..dead ball runner out..batter awarded first. or NO call if a player had a chance and missed it, and the ball is past an infielder... If interference is the call, the ball is dead, and you will almost always have an out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 10, 2004, 08:12pm
SF SF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 186
fair territory
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 11, 2004, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by SF
I was watching a game today (right before I started working)and I was looking for some input by you more experience, knowledgable umps. Situation: ASA rules, 12U, bottom on the 6th (last inning), visitor leading 3-2 2 outs, base loaded. Batter hits a sharp grounder to F3, who makes a stab at the ball but misses, did not touch the ball, and it hits R3 and bounces back into the infield. R1 scores, R2 rounds third and heads home while BU is silently signalling an out. R2 scores easily as F3 throws to F5. PU calls the game and then BU runs in and they discuss the call. BU changes interference call, says there was no interference and they end the game. What would you call on this play?

[Edited by SF on Jul 10th, 2004 at 06:38 PM]
This simple: For R3 to be ruled out, another fielder would have to be in position to field the ball and get an OUT (not just a possible play). This is pure umpire judgment. It seems obvious that the PU reminded the BU of the situation and how the rule applied and they corrected the call to reflect the rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 11, 2004, 05:34pm
SF SF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 186
I thought that they made the right call, but afterwards the BU said that it should have been a dead ball, one run scores, and they keep playing. What was thinking of or is he just confused?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 04:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Dead Ball.Runner out. Batter runner goes to first. All runners hang where they were unless they were forced.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by azbigdawg
Dead Ball.Runner out. Batter runner goes to first. All runners hang where they were unless they were forced.
Since an untouched batted ball had passed an infielder, what are you basing your call on?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by SF
I thought that they made the right call, but afterwards the BU said that it should have been a dead ball, one run scores, and they keep playing. What was thinking of or is he just confused?
Considering it is impossible to continue play or score any runs during a dead ball period, I would like to think the umpire is either confused or needs to take the rules clinics and books a bit more seriously.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
oops..excuse me.....If the ball has passed an infielder, play on...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1