The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   What's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14518-whats-call.html)

SF Sat Jul 10, 2004 05:05pm

I was watching a game today (right before I started working)and I was looking for some input by you more experience, knowledgable umps. Situation: ASA rules, 12U, bottom on the 6th (last inning), visitor leading 3-2 2 outs, base loaded. Batter hits a sharp grounder to F3, who makes a stab at the ball but misses, did not touch the ball, and it hits R3 and bounces back into the infield. R1 scores, R2 rounds third and heads home while BU is silently signalling an out. R2 scores easily as F3 throws to F5. PU calls the game and then BU runs in and they discuss the call. BU changes interference call, says there was no interference and they end the game. What would you call on this play?

[Edited by SF on Jul 10th, 2004 at 06:38 PM]

azbigdawg Sat Jul 10, 2004 07:26pm

Where was R3 when she was hit? If she was in FOUL territory, Dead ball, FOUL ball... If she was in Fair territory..2 things can happen..dead ball runner out..batter awarded first. or NO call if a player had a chance and missed it, and the ball is past an infielder... If interference is the call, the ball is dead, and you will almost always have an out.

SF Sat Jul 10, 2004 08:12pm

fair territory

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by SF
I was watching a game today (right before I started working)and I was looking for some input by you more experience, knowledgable umps. Situation: ASA rules, 12U, bottom on the 6th (last inning), visitor leading 3-2 2 outs, base loaded. Batter hits a sharp grounder to F3, who makes a stab at the ball but misses, did not touch the ball, and it hits R3 and bounces back into the infield. R1 scores, R2 rounds third and heads home while BU is silently signalling an out. R2 scores easily as F3 throws to F5. PU calls the game and then BU runs in and they discuss the call. BU changes interference call, says there was no interference and they end the game. What would you call on this play?

[Edited by SF on Jul 10th, 2004 at 06:38 PM]

This simple: For R3 to be ruled out, another fielder would have to be in position to field the ball and get an OUT (not just a possible play). This is pure umpire judgment. It seems obvious that the PU reminded the BU of the situation and how the rule applied and they corrected the call to reflect the rule.

SF Sun Jul 11, 2004 05:34pm

I thought that they made the right call, but afterwards the BU said that it should have been a dead ball, one run scores, and they keep playing. What was thinking of or is he just confused?

azbigdawg Mon Jul 12, 2004 04:28am

Dead Ball.Runner out. Batter runner goes to first. All runners hang where they were unless they were forced.

Dakota Mon Jul 12, 2004 08:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by azbigdawg
Dead Ball.Runner out. Batter runner goes to first. All runners hang where they were unless they were forced.
Since an untouched batted ball had passed an infielder, what are you basing your call on?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 12, 2004 09:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by SF
I thought that they made the right call, but afterwards the BU said that it should have been a dead ball, one run scores, and they keep playing. What was thinking of or is he just confused?
Considering it is impossible to continue play or score any runs during a dead ball period, I would like to think the umpire is either confused or needs to take the rules clinics and books a bit more seriously.


azbigdawg Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:17am

oops..excuse me.....If the ball has passed an infielder, play on...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1