The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Bluefoot


Is this correct? Should I have left it as a live ball, and let the play proceed?
Yes, if no other player had an opportunity to make an out, the ball remains lives.

Quote:
If it becomes a dead ball when R1 was hit with the tipped ball, or since I created a dead ball, can I put R1 on 3B, since he obviously would have made it there safely?
If you are intent on making the correction, yes.
Quote:
Now that I've thought more about it, the play is just the same as if a fielder misplayed any hit ball, and after touching the ball, an offensive player then unintentionally contacts the misplayed ball. That would be a live ball in play. So I should have not stopped play, nor called an out. What prompted me to do so was that the ball was hit as a line drive and the tipped ball was still smoking when it hit R1. I'll chalk this one up to experience.

Thanks.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1