The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally posted by Homer
[Ball should have remained live and play should have continued - assuming the runner didn't intentionally touch the ball.

But, as you called the out and stopped the play, you've got to undo things as best you can in your best judgment. You need to figure out, as best you can, how things would have ended up had you not erroneously stopped play. If, in your judgment, the runner would have ended up on third, you should have given him third and not returned him to second.

That he was not forced is not a consideration.
Is this correct? Should I have left it as a live ball, and let the play proceed? If it becomes a dead ball when R1 was hit with the tipped ball, or since I created a dead ball, can I put R1 on 3B, since he obviously would have made it there safely?

Now that I've thought more about it, the play is just the same as if a fielder misplayed any hit ball, and after touching the ball, an offensive player then unintentionally contacts the misplayed ball. That would be a live ball in play. So I should have not stopped play, nor called an out. What prompted me to do so was that the ball was hit as a line drive and the tipped ball was still smoking when it hit R1. I'll chalk this one up to experience.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1