The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2004, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by Bluefoot

Or was the play supposed to be a live ball and play should have continued without me stopping the play? If that's the case, was my correction of the situation the proper one?

Thanks in advance.
Ball should have remained live and play should have continued - assuming the runner didn't intentionally touch the ball.

But, as you called the out and stopped the play, you've got to undo things as best you can in your best judgment. You need to figure out, as best you can, how things would have ended up had you not erroneously stopped play. If, in your judgment, the runner would have ended up on third, you should have given him third and not returned him to second.

That he was not forced is not a consideration.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1