The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2004, 07:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
gremule: That makes sense. If you were going to award the obstructed runner (Abel) home, then you protect Baker at 3B. If the award was going to be Abel back to 3B, then Baker is in jeopardy.

Originial post: greymule
3. As Abel is advancing toward home, he is obstructed 20 feet from the plate and falls down. You call and signal OBS. The ball gets a few feet away from F2, and though Abel could probably have scored, he scrambles to his feet and runs back toward 3B. Baker is standing on 3B when Abel arrives back safely. F5 tags both runners.

First, it would be simple since in the judgement of the umpire
was he felt Abel could have made it to HP.

Second, Since Baker had successfully reached 3rd, during the
OBS of Abel, he is effected by the outcome, and should be placed
back on second, if in the judgement of the umpire Able would
only have reaced 3rd.

Rule 8.5B.2.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1