The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2004, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Buddogger
Player A is injured in field but remains in game (goes to catcher). Player A bats next inning and hits a clean single, hobbling to 1st base safely. Player A is immediately replaced on 1st base by Player B.

Question: can this be considered a legal "substitution" or must it be considered a "courtesy runner"?

The reentry of Player A is contingent upon the answer in our league as players removed for courtesy runners are ineligible for reentry.

In this case, Player A came out to catch the next inning under the substitution reentry rule. I protested siting the courtesy runner rule.

The ump claimed that it was a legal substitution as a pinch-runner and subsequent reentry but I could find no mention of the term "pinch-runner" in the ASA rule book.

4.6.c does read that any player may be removed from the game during any dead ball.

If the substitution was legal under an interpretation of this rule then that does open some interesting possibilities in the use of "pinch-runners" for players. (e.g. I stock a bench of track stars).

Thanks.

__________________
- YITB #11 NYETA
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1