The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2004, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Had a very rare call last night.

14U ASA game, 1 umpire "system" (some system!). Count 1-0. B1 hits a sharp grounder directly to F5, who cleanly fields the ball and throws her out at first.

3B Coach requests TIME. Points out F5 is wearing a 1st baseman's mitt.

Oh, crap! Coach starts "coaching" me that the batter gets 1st base. I decide to inspect the glove to both determine that it truly is illegal, and to buy time. I tell the coach to be quiet. As I am walking toward F5, the effect pops into my head.

After inspecting the glove, I inform the coach he has a choice: batter back into the box with the 1-0 count, or the results of the play. (Guess which he picks.)

Batter grounds out ~5 pitches later.

__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1