![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			ASA slowpitch 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Batter hits a line drive about 2 feet off the third base line in foul territory. 3rd base coach(a player who made the last out) caught it. He was in the coaches box. I was the BU. PU called the batter out, interference. I have looked but can't find a rule reference? Thanks  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			First of all the coaches box should be 8 feet from the line if the field has room to do that. I would have to ask if anyone had a chance to make a play on the ball, and if so interference,if not no. Rule reference 8-7-0 would seem to say it would be interference but if no one had a chance to make a play on the ball I would let it go. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	[Edited by Ed Maeder on Jun 6th, 2004 at 08:14 PM]  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I will agree with Ed. There has to be a play to be interferred with.  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			From the desription, it sounds unlikely that any defensive player has a play on a line drive down the third baseline. But, as with almost all intererence related calls, it HTBT! 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I'm with Ed.  If there was no play to be made by the defense, it should simply be a foul ball. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			If there were no runners on, there is no call. 8-7-O refers to the runner closest to home being ruled out. This could also apply to a BR. However, since the batter did not hit a FAIR ball, he is not a BR, so cannot be called out by that rule. 7-6-I would probably be more appropriate, but that requires the defense to have a play which supports Ed's and my call. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |