![]()  | 
	
		
 ASA slowpitch 
	Batter hits a line drive about 2 feet off the third base line in foul territory. 3rd base coach(a player who made the last out) caught it. He was in the coaches box. I was the BU. PU called the batter out, interference. I have looked but can't find a rule reference? Thanks  | 
		
 First of all the coaches box should be 8 feet from the line if the field has room to do that. I would have to ask if anyone had a chance to make a play on the ball, and if so interference,if not no. Rule reference 8-7-0 would seem to say it would be interference but if no one had a chance to make a play on the ball I would let it go. 
	[Edited by Ed Maeder on Jun 6th, 2004 at 08:14 PM]  | 
		
 I will agree with Ed. There has to be a play to be interferred with.  
	From the desription, it sounds unlikely that any defensive player has a play on a line drive down the third baseline. But, as with almost all intererence related calls, it HTBT!  | 
		
 I'm with Ed.  If there was no play to be made by the defense, it should simply be a foul ball. 
	If there were no runners on, there is no call. 8-7-O refers to the runner closest to home being ruled out. This could also apply to a BR. However, since the batter did not hit a FAIR ball, he is not a BR, so cannot be called out by that rule. 7-6-I would probably be more appropriate, but that requires the defense to have a play which supports Ed's and my call.  | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm. |