The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2004, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Umpire blew this one.

If he used this rule to justify calling an INFIELD FLY, as posted, he's quite simply a moron. If he used it to justify calling batter out and putting R1 back on 1st after a purposefully caught and dropped fly, he called it right, but from the description of the play that doesn't sound to be the case.
Yep. It was a blooping liner that landed untouched between the pitcher and short (remember, these are 11 and 12 year-old girls). The umpire yelled "INFIELD FLY!". And even more incorrectly he called "DEAD BALL!" and told the lone base runner to go back to first. I think now that it was a simple case of the ump accidently mixing parts the two rules together.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1