The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Drawing a throw (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13614-drawing-throw.html)

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 12, 2004 09:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by JEL


We march to our own beat here in Georgia.

Which is why there was so much moaning about this year's ASA 18U Gold NC in Marietta.

Damn shame. From what I understand, some girls will not be able to play one or the other because of the GHSA and the school calendar.

Surprised someone doesn't complain about how they infringe on someone else's season with an All Star game when it appears they are so tight about players participating in their's.

Maybe I have the wrong perception of the scheme of things down there, but this is the impression I have received reading quite a few boards and listening to the chatter at the ASA National Convention this last November.


Roger Greene Wed May 12, 2004 02:49pm

Re: Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
[
Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

SamC [/B]
Good call, Sam. The only correct call for Fed and no one even takes notice.

Roger Greene

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 12, 2004 04:06pm

Re: Re: Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Roger Greene
Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
[
Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

SamC
Good call, Sam. The only correct call for Fed and no one even takes notice.

Roger Greene [/B]
Just the opposite of ASA (real shock). Same set up, but the runner would be put back on 1B.


TexBlue Wed May 12, 2004 05:28pm

Re: Re: Re: Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

[/B]
Wait a minute! The case stated has no bearing on the play given here. While similar, it wouldn't apply here. Here, the BR goes back to 1st. In the case book, she doesn't. I'm afraid I'm gonna disagree here and say no call, good job by the catcher, bases loaded.

As long as the BR commits immediately to 1st base, and it sounds like she did here, there is no penalty.

Roger Greene Wed May 12, 2004 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by Duke
Agree, no call on this. Just to throw a "what if" into this. Suppose the Batter/Runner remained at second once the ball was in the circle. At what point does something have to happen? Obviously can't keep two runners on the same base. If no play is made, R1 and R2 are locked to the bases because of the LBR. What if the pitcher stepped up on the pitcher's plate ready to pitch?
Once it is apparent no play will be made and the runner is going to remain on the base, the umpire should call TIME and direct the trailing runner back to the proper base.

The post had morphed, Rick. This was the sitch that the Fed case was refering to!

Roger Greene

TexBlue Wed May 12, 2004 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Roger Greene

The post had morphed, Rick. This was the sitch that the Fed case was refering to!

Roger Greene [/B]
Well, guess I missed that one. In that case, the BR is gonna be out due to the LBR. In this case, the lead runner has rights to the base and does not have to leave. I guess that will be in accordance with Fed rules.

Is this the situation that Mike was talking about where they put the BR back on 1st? What happened to the LBR there? If the BR can't stay on the base, she has to commit immediately, and she can only go back to 1st.

[Edited by TexBlue on May 12th, 2004 at 10:23 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1