The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Drawing a throw (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13614-drawing-throw.html)

WinterWillie Mon May 10, 2004 09:18pm

Drawing a throw
 
NFHS rules interpretation only
R1 on third, R2 on second, one out,team on offense down one run. Batter/runner draws a walk, the ball is in the hands of the catcher, third base coach screams at batter/runner to keep going. Batter/runner without hesitation keeps going to second base. You now have R2 and batter/runner on the second base at the same time, R1 on third base and the ball is still in the catchers hand at home plate. The offense is obviously looking to draw the throw. The catcher throws the ball to the pitcher who moves into the circle. The batter/runner returns without stopping to first base. What's the call- is there a call?

MichaelVA2000 Mon May 10, 2004 09:28pm

Drawing a throw
 
From your discribtion of the play, I would have no call. There was no violation of the Look Back rule and no play was made on the batter-runner who continued to second base and then retreated without stopping back to first base.

Michael

chuck chopper Tue May 11, 2004 08:25am

I agree- No call

Dakota Tue May 11, 2004 08:50am

Also agree - no call. Nice try, though, coach.

Skahtboi Tue May 11, 2004 09:55am

Add me to the no call list.

Duke Tue May 11, 2004 10:02am

Agree, no call on this. Just to throw a "what if" into this. Suppose the Batter/Runner remained at second once the ball was in the circle. At what point does something have to happen? Obviously can't keep two runners on the same base. If no play is made, R1 and R2 are locked to the bases because of the LBR. What if the pitcher stepped up on the pitcher's plate ready to pitch?

TwoBits Tue May 11, 2004 10:07am

Good no call.

Let the whining from the defensive coach and parents begin!

Dakota Tue May 11, 2004 10:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by Duke
Agree, no call on this. Just to throw a "what if" into this. Suppose the Batter/Runner remained at second once the ball was in the circle. At what point does something have to happen? Obviously can't keep two runners on the same base. If no play is made, R1 and R2 are locked to the bases because of the LBR. What if the pitcher stepped up on the pitcher's plate ready to pitch?
Once it is apparent no play will be made and the runner is going to remain on the base, the umpire should call TIME and direct the trailing runner back to the proper base.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 11, 2004 11:09am

Well, this is one of the more negative threads we've had in a while.

Everyone just said no!

JEL Tue May 11, 2004 11:40am



Everyone just said no!


YES....





There is no call!

WestMichBlue Tue May 11, 2004 11:50am

Well, let me throw a monkey wrench into everyone's No Call.

B-R is touching 2B, ball is in circle. LBR is in effect. NFHS 8.7.2 "Once the runner stops at a base for any reason, she will be declared out if she leaves the base."

Taking the original post literally, ball was in circle then B-R left 2B to return to 1B.

I'm calling her out.

WMB

JEL Tue May 11, 2004 12:11pm

Way to go WMB, You just ruined this entire thread!

You are absolutely correct regarding FED ruling. Glad I learned this one before our 04 season starts up! Thanks

Skahtboi Tue May 11, 2004 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JEL
You are absolutely correct regarding FED ruling. Glad I learned this one before our 04 season starts up! Thanks
Starts up??? You haven't started yet? Wow! How long is the season where you are?

Here in Texas, we are in the third week of post season playoffs!

SamNVa Tue May 11, 2004 12:42pm

Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by Duke
Agree, no call on this. Just to throw a "what if" into this. Suppose the Batter/Runner remained at second once the ball was in the circle. At what point does something have to happen? Obviously can't keep two runners on the same base. If no play is made, R1 and R2 are locked to the bases because of the LBR. What if the pitcher stepped up on the pitcher's plate ready to pitch?
Once it is apparent no play will be made and the runner is going to remain on the base, the umpire should call TIME and direct the trailing runner back to the proper base.

Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

SamC

JEL Wed May 12, 2004 07:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
Quote:

Originally posted by JEL
You are absolutely correct regarding FED ruling. Glad I learned this one before our 04 season starts up! Thanks
Starts up??? You haven't started yet? Wow! How long is the season where you are?

Here in Texas, we are in the third week of post season playoffs!


Nope, Here in Georgia, HS Softball is played in fall, usually cranks up the first week of school. We are having a statewide GHSA AllStar game June 16th in Kennesaw, will be last seasons players. My wife may have a spot on the 6 man crew (will be volunteer, read unpaid). Baseball starts up in March, and playoffs are under way there. 6 from our association have a slot this Friday in the first round.

We march to our own beat here in Georgia.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 12, 2004 09:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by JEL


We march to our own beat here in Georgia.

Which is why there was so much moaning about this year's ASA 18U Gold NC in Marietta.

Damn shame. From what I understand, some girls will not be able to play one or the other because of the GHSA and the school calendar.

Surprised someone doesn't complain about how they infringe on someone else's season with an All Star game when it appears they are so tight about players participating in their's.

Maybe I have the wrong perception of the scheme of things down there, but this is the impression I have received reading quite a few boards and listening to the chatter at the ASA National Convention this last November.


Roger Greene Wed May 12, 2004 02:49pm

Re: Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
[
Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

SamC [/B]
Good call, Sam. The only correct call for Fed and no one even takes notice.

Roger Greene

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 12, 2004 04:06pm

Re: Re: Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Roger Greene
Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
[
Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

SamC
Good call, Sam. The only correct call for Fed and no one even takes notice.

Roger Greene [/B]
Just the opposite of ASA (real shock). Same set up, but the runner would be put back on 1B.


TexBlue Wed May 12, 2004 05:28pm

Re: Re: Re: Actually Tom
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
Since we are talking FED here, the proper ruling according to Case Play 8.3.3.B is for the umpire to wait a bit to see if anything is going to happen, and it nothing does, then to call time and call R3 our.

[/B]
Wait a minute! The case stated has no bearing on the play given here. While similar, it wouldn't apply here. Here, the BR goes back to 1st. In the case book, she doesn't. I'm afraid I'm gonna disagree here and say no call, good job by the catcher, bases loaded.

As long as the BR commits immediately to 1st base, and it sounds like she did here, there is no penalty.

Roger Greene Wed May 12, 2004 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by Duke
Agree, no call on this. Just to throw a "what if" into this. Suppose the Batter/Runner remained at second once the ball was in the circle. At what point does something have to happen? Obviously can't keep two runners on the same base. If no play is made, R1 and R2 are locked to the bases because of the LBR. What if the pitcher stepped up on the pitcher's plate ready to pitch?
Once it is apparent no play will be made and the runner is going to remain on the base, the umpire should call TIME and direct the trailing runner back to the proper base.

The post had morphed, Rick. This was the sitch that the Fed case was refering to!

Roger Greene

TexBlue Wed May 12, 2004 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Roger Greene

The post had morphed, Rick. This was the sitch that the Fed case was refering to!

Roger Greene [/B]
Well, guess I missed that one. In that case, the BR is gonna be out due to the LBR. In this case, the lead runner has rights to the base and does not have to leave. I guess that will be in accordance with Fed rules.

Is this the situation that Mike was talking about where they put the BR back on 1st? What happened to the LBR there? If the BR can't stay on the base, she has to commit immediately, and she can only go back to 1st.

[Edited by TexBlue on May 12th, 2004 at 10:23 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1