The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference ????? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13512-interference.html)

Palmer Tue May 04, 2004 03:52am

Qustion: If I have a base runner on 3rd base, with 2 outs. The ball is pitched, the batter swings and misses (by about a foot I might add). The ball glances off the catches glove, hitting her knee pads and bouncing into the field toward 2nd basemen, the defensive team isn't even paying attention. So I send the runner home from 3rd base. The batter at this time, realizes the ball is in play, takes off running for 1st base. (The runner later says that she thought she hit it). The runner going home scores, on a thow and missed tag at home by the 2nd baseman. The Umpire calls the batter running to 1st base out, he says it is interference???? She wasn't technically even in the play, and the defensive team didn't even make a play on her. They chose to try and throw the girl out at home. Was this the right call ???? I have no idea, so I didn't argue it with the umpires????

Can anyone let me know. Thanks in advance

Palmer...

greymule Tue May 04, 2004 05:36am

Bad call by the ump. The defense should have known the numbers of strikes but was simply asleep. To try to claim the runner interfered by running to 1B is stretching things too far.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 04, 2004 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Bad call by the ump. The defense should have known the numbers of strikes but was simply asleep. To try to claim the runner interfered by running to 1B is stretching things too far.
Speaking ASA, Grey is 100% right. Don't know about other assns.


TexBlue Tue May 04, 2004 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Bad call by the ump. The defense should have known the numbers of strikes but was simply asleep. To try to claim the runner interfered by running to 1B is stretching things too far.
Speaking ASA, Grey is 100% right. Don't know about other assns.


I know about 9-10 years ago, it was interference in ASA for running to 1st base and trying to draw a throw. Then, they decided it's just a bad defensive play to fall for it. I don't know of any organization who calls this interference anymore. Of course, I don't call all of them either.

mcrowder Tue May 04, 2004 04:11pm

Had a girl run to first on BALL TWO (no strikes) last night when it got away. They made a play on her that went into right field, 2 runners scored. I'm sure there was no intent by the batter, as she was truly embarrassed when I called her back, announcing the count 2-0.

wadeintothem Wed May 05, 2004 12:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Had a girl run to first on BALL TWO (no strikes) last night when it got away. They made a play on her that went into right field, 2 runners scored. I'm sure there was no intent by the batter, as she was truly embarrassed when I called her back, announcing the count 2-0.
I've had similar situations and i know of a coach who has done this on purpose to get runs on the error. As an ump I state the count often.. I'm not a silent ump - I consider that about the best I can do to keep people aware of the count - if they throw to 1b on strike two; its on them.

Bandit Wed May 05, 2004 07:27am

Am I missing Something Here, Tex ???
 
TexBlue. The original post said that there was 2 outs and runner on third. Unfortunetly the # of strikes was not mentioned. For conversation sake, if indeed there had been 2 strikes prior to the swing mentioned this would simply be a dropped third strike situation correct. I know the rule used to be if the the dropped third was not in effect or could not be applied then interference could be called several years ago if the batter ran to try and draw a throw. Or as it is refered to locally as a "DC" play. "Dumb Catcher". Is this what you are refering to ?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1