![]() |
At a varsity double-header last Saturday the first base coach, after her team made the third out, ran out to the pitcher's mound and smoothed the landing area. She then rubbed the dust of the ball then handed the ball and talked to the pitcher. I guess it is their supestition. Never saw it before and couldn't find any against it in the rule book. The defensive conference rule doensn't come into play because time wasn't called but I don't think the coach should be out there talking to her pitcher before the warm up pitches are started. Your thoughts?
|
Quote:
What could it hurt? They are still on the 60 second clock. Another option could be to ask the ump to fix the mound while the coach spoke to the pitcher on the sidelines. ;) mick |
Quote:
|
Aaaargh!
Quote:
<Font size = 5 color = red>Busted !</Font> :) mick |
Quote:
Personally, I don't have a problem, as long as the game isn't being delayed. |
Tony,
That's a relatively common practice - it is not a conference unless they take "too" long. |
I was even told about 6 years ago by an ASA clinician that (Oklahoma) didn't want us touching the ball either. Throw it down into the circle. I used to get it, stand in the circle, and hand it to the next pitcher. This was my way of saying "hurry up, get out here & take you warm ups" without actually saying it.
|
As long as the coach doesn't hold up the game.....Leave them alone. That's no different than the coach calling for a quick defensive huddle BEFORE they take the field.
FU.....Who was insane enough to come up with that ruling? How long did the coach last before they came unglued and were tossed? |
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by FUBLUE
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by CecilOne
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Well, in my games, if the *circle* needs some work, I call time, and I either do it, or have it done (often by the Home team). We play in an area where the teams play for the privilege of using, what I consider, unprepared fields. mick |
Charged Conference doesn't come into play until the umpire declares the ball live to start a half inning. Why bother with a coach if the team hasn't used there minute or five pitches. If he isn't gone and holds up the game he just used one when you declare it live. For that matter would you tell the offensive coach not to talk to the on deck batter while they are in the on deck circle before the ball is declared live.
|
Quote:
Had a pitcher arrive at the circle with me holding and ready to her toss the ball. She asked that I just drop it and let her pick it up. Flabbergasted, I said okay, dropped it, and left. I think I came back later accidently and tossed her the ball only to have her knock it to the ground so she could pick it up.... hot potato! Superstition beats congenialty. Pitchers are a bunch of head cases. ;) [Edited by DownTownTonyBrown on Apr 17th, 2004 at 12:58 PM] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am. |