![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			What if F2 catches a foul popup with her mask? 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Legal catch (ASA) says hand or glove. Detached equipment rule applies to fair ball. So do I just have a foul ball in this case? I What if she catches it with mask and then puts the ball in her hand...is this a catch then? Yeggman  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Rule 1 - Definitions 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Catch F. An illegally caught ball occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than a hand(s) or glove in its proper place. Should the catcher catch any fly ball with the mask, the batter is not out. (ASA 2004, page 49)  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			wouldn't that fall under using detached equipment to make a play and some kind of award would be given.. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"." - Harry Caray -  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Foul ball
			 
			
			
			The past two years this question has been on the ASA Exam: 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	(paraphrased) A foul ball is heading toward fair territory prior to first base. An infielder throws his glove at it preventing the ball from becoming fair. If I remember correctly, the correct answer was its a foul ball. Am I the only one that thinks the defense should be penalized for this? I know the detached equipment rule is for a fair ball, but why not for a foul ball if the defense gains an advantage?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Re: Foul ball
			 
			Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |