![]() |
What if F2 catches a foul popup with her mask?
Legal catch (ASA) says hand or glove. Detached equipment rule applies to fair ball. So do I just have a foul ball in this case? I What if she catches it with mask and then puts the ball in her hand...is this a catch then? Yeggman |
Rule 1 - Definitions
Catch F. An illegally caught ball occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than a hand(s) or glove in its proper place. Should the catcher catch any fly ball with the mask, the batter is not out. (ASA 2004, page 49) |
wouldn't that fall under using detached equipment to make a play and some kind of award would be given..
|
Quote:
|
Foul ball
The past two years this question has been on the ASA Exam:
(paraphrased) A foul ball is heading toward fair territory prior to first base. An infielder throws his glove at it preventing the ball from becoming fair. If I remember correctly, the correct answer was its a foul ball. Am I the only one that thinks the defense should be penalized for this? I know the detached equipment rule is for a fair ball, but why not for a foul ball if the defense gains an advantage? |
Re: Foul ball
Quote:
|
Thanks
Thank you pollywolly!!
I didn't read all the way to F. under the definition for some reason. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07am. |