The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
My tournament this past three days included Walter Sparks' DD's
team. We had a couple of good chats. He told me that NFHS
will change over to ASA's version of the OBS rule next year.
I called two illegal pitches on his DD's team. His DD was not
the pitcher at the time. His DD's team went through the tournament
undefeated. I called, as it worked out, all but one of their
games. He told me that there was one thing I do that he really
likes. When pitcher is getting sign and then Batter decides
to step out, I have always given them 5 - 10 seconds, then announce
"OK, ladies, lets reset, and play." If there were prior pitches
I announce the count immediately following putting the ball in
play. He had no negative comments on any of my games and was there
for three of them. Two plates and one base.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Walter who??? And ypu called 2 illegal pitches on his team; weren't you a-scared? J/K

Congratulations on a good tournament,
SamC
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 166
Question

I haven't done asa so what is the obs rule we are talking about?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
SamC.

I was not aware of his presence until the Marshall coach gave
me a batting order change. She was sub'ing a hitter for #2 and
when I made the change I noticed the name. I had called games
for Marshall last year in this same tournament, but it had not
registered at that time. After making the change I looked around
and there sat he and Mrs. Sparks. He spoke, then between games
we had a brief chat on different changes for NFHS. Did have
an incident happend later in the game that probably caught his
attention, but he was polite and did not elaborate on it during
our next conversation. I will post that later.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Refjef40,

basically the same obs rule except that ASA removed the phrase "about to receive" from their version of the rule. It doesn't surprize me that the FED is following suit next year.

glen,

I can't wait to hear your story.

SamC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1