The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2004, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
In rafking's case, would you consider 5 feet about to receive the ball? That is the decision the umpire would have had to make.
So, the old ASA rule applies. That should make it less likely to get an obs call, not more likely.

Up to the original contact, F2 was not obstructing under either the old or the new rule, since she had possession of the ball and was making a tag.

Upon contact, the ball was knocked loose.

Is the fielder now obligated to vacate the area between the stationary runner (who slid short of the base) before retreiving the ball? I can't believe that is required.

F2 did a legal block of the base and kept the runner short. The runner did a legal slide to knock the ball loose. F2's job at this point is to retrieve the ball. R1's job is to try to reach the base.

F2 did her job. R1 didn't. I still think it is an out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1