The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   You make the call (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/12137-you-make-call.html)

IRISHMAFIA Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:28pm

Speaking ASA.

R1 on 2B, Advances on a batted ball to right field. R1 misses 3B and is obstructed on the way towards home. R1 is then tagged out, when returning to 3B. When the umpire declared a dead ball, the defense then appealed that R3 missed 3B. R1 would not have made it home had the obstruction not occurred. Whice of the following is correct:

a. R1 is out because 3B was missed.

b. R1 is awarded 3B on the obstruction and the appeal for missing 3B is nullified.

c. R1 is not out on the tag, but is called out on the appeal for missing 3B.

d. R1 is awarded home on the obstruction and the appeal for missing 3B is nullified.

Okay, make the call!

Carroll G. Abbey Sat Feb 07, 2004 12:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA.

R1 on 2B, Advances on a batted ball to right field. R1 misses 3B and is obstructed on the way towards home. R1 is then tagged out, when returning to 3B. When the umpire declared a dead ball, the defense then appealed that R3 missed 3B. R1 would not have made it home had the obstruction not occurred. Whice of the following is correct:

a. R1 is out because 3B was missed.

b. R1 is awarded 3B on the obstruction and the appeal for missing 3B is nullified.

c. R1 is not out on the tag, but is called out on the appeal for missing 3B.

d. R1 is awarded home on the obstruction and the appeal

Okay, make the call!

The obstruction would protect the runner back to third base. I would call the runner out on the missed base appeal, not on the tag.

Dukat Sat Feb 07, 2004 01:06am

Okee, Ill attempt this one without my book in front of me so feel free to rip me if I am wrong.
I see the key sentence in this as "when returning to 3B" therefore if in the Umpire's judgement the runner would have made it back to third after realizing the miss had obstruction not occured I would choose: <B>b. R1 is awarded 3B on the obstruction and the appeal for missing 3B is nullified.</b>

Dakota Sat Feb 07, 2004 01:08pm

On the obstruction, R1 is not out and is awarded 3rd. On a dead ball appeal, the runner must be given the opportunity to complete base running duties before any appeal will be heard. R1 returns to 3rd on the award. Appeal is moot.

Answer: b.

Del-Blue Sat Feb 07, 2004 02:00pm

Runner is awarded third on the obstruction, and after s/he finishes running the bases an appeal can be made, Since s/he is on third, there would be no appeal. "B"

greymule Sat Feb 07, 2004 03:36pm

I'll also go with "b." As soon as the runner is tagged out, he is awarded 3B. There aren't really any baserunning duties to complete, except that he has to go to 3B and stand there.

oppool Sat Feb 07, 2004 06:42pm

Case book play 8.6-18
 
I believe this would support answer "C" on this play


JMO

Don

greymule Sat Feb 07, 2004 08:12pm

You might be right, oppool, but the ruling in your case book play does say, "since he was not obstructed trying to get back to 2B." The implication is that if he <i>was</i> obstructed trying to get back to 2B, as in Mike's play, he would not be called out.

TexBlue Sat Feb 07, 2004 08:48pm

Since the administering umpire has deemed that the runner would not have reached home plate safely without the obstruction, I gotta think they would award 3rd base to the runner. Since the runner is now on 3rd base the appeal would be nullified.

I'm going with b. Now the fun begins.

http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/sex.gif


Woodchuck Sat Feb 07, 2004 08:55pm

Its bgeen awhile since I did ASA but here goes. Runner was obstructed going to home plate, give delay dead ball signal. When obstructed runner is tagged out returning to third umpire should call dead ball and announce the obstruction, award the runner home. If the runner fails to tag third base prior to going home the defense can appeal for the out due to failure to tag third.

greymule Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:33pm

The implication is that if he was obstructed trying to get back to 2B, <b>as in Mike's play,</b> he would not be called out.

I read it wrong. The runner in Mike's play was indeed obstructed going toward home, not while returning to 3B. I'd still go with "b" though.

Skahtboi Sun Feb 08, 2004 03:28pm

I will have to agree with the majority here, and go with B as the correct answer.

Skahtboi Sun Feb 08, 2004 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Woodchuck
When obstructed runner is tagged out returning to third umpire should call dead ball and announce the obstruction, award the runner home. If the runner fails to tag third base prior to going home the defense can appeal for the out due to failure to tag third.
There is no automatic award of the next base with an obstruction offense. The runner is merely protected between the bases in which the obstruction occurred and to the base that she/he would have made, in the judgement of the umpire, had the obstruction not occurred.

In the case that Mike presented, I believe that the only base she is entitled to is third.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 08, 2004 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA.

R1 on 2B, Advances on a batted ball to right field. R1 misses 3B and is obstructed on the way towards home. R1 is then tagged out, when returning to 3B. When the umpire declared a dead ball, the defense then appealed that R3 missed 3B. R1 would not have made it home had the obstruction not occurred. Whice of the following is correct:

a. R1 is out because 3B was missed.

b. R1 is awarded 3B on the obstruction and the appeal for missing 3B is nullified.

c. R1 is not out on the tag, but is called out on the appeal for missing 3B.

d. R1 is awarded home on the obstruction and the appeal for missing 3B is nullified.

Okay, make the call!

R1 was obstructed on the way toward HP. However, the scenario specifically states that R1 would NOT have scored had the obstruction not occurred.

The moment R1 is tagged out, the umpire declares a dead ball and awards R1 third base.

Since all runners must be given the opportunity to complete all baserunning assignments prior to accepting any appeals, the appeal is basically nullified since the runner is obviously now standing on 3B.

Answer: B

BTW, remember this question.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 08, 2004 05:58pm

Re: Case book play 8.6-18
 
Quote:

Originally posted by oppool
I believe this would support answer "C" on this play


JMO

Don

Don,

I believe that in 8.6-18 there is no indication the runner actually retouched the missed base, and that may be the difference.


oppool Sun Feb 08, 2004 09:09pm

POE 34
 
States That an obstructed runner may be put out between the bases protected if it for a violation leaving too early or missing a bag so if R1 would of not made it back to the bag before the appeal you would call the runner out so as in the case book play if R1 is not back on 3rd in this play when the proper appeal was made I believe you could call the runner out from what I am reading. It never states in these situation about having to let the runner return before an appeal is heard as it states in over throws in DBT plays


Open for discussion as when I first read the play I thought the proper answer was B but after looking at the similiar case book play and reading the POE I somewhat believe you could answer C

Thanks

Don

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:25pm

Re: POE 34
 
Quote:

Originally posted by oppool
States That an obstructed runner may be put out between the bases protected if it for a violation leaving too early or missing a bag so if R1 would of not made it back to the bag before the appeal you would call the runner out so as in the case book play if R1 is not back on 3rd in this play when the proper appeal was made I believe you could call the runner out from what I am reading. It never states in these situation about having to let the runner return before an appeal is heard as it states in over throws in DBT plays


Open for discussion as when I first read the play I thought the proper answer was B but after looking at the similiar case book play and reading the POE I somewhat believe you could answer C

Thanks

Don

Don,

There is a particular order in which umpires handle things.

1. When an obstructed runner is put out prior to safely reaching the base the umpire believes they would have made had the obstruction not occured, the rule and mechanic is to rule a dead ball and announce the respective award. (8.5.B.2)

2. When there is a dead ball, runners must be given ample time to complete their baserunning responsibilities prior to ruling an any dead ball appeal. (POE 1.C.1)

3. Accept an appeal. In this play, the runner is standing on the base the defense is stating the runner did not touch. Going to be awfully hard explaining the acceptence of such an appeal.

BTW, answer anything other than B and guarantee at least one wrong on this year's test.


CecilOne Tue Feb 10, 2004 01:16pm

The reason I thought "b" was that a runner can't be put out between the bases where the OBS occurs, so once it's called and the runner can't be awarded home, there is no other choice.

Dakota Tue Feb 10, 2004 01:30pm

The runner can't be put out, but she can cause herself to be declared out with infractions such as missed base or interference. The trick in this question is the comment about the runner not making home without the obstruction, and remembering that the runner must be allowed to complete her baserunning before any dead ball appeal will be heard.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1