The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Crash rule

The crash rule now says, ". . . the runner must be called out if he remains on his feet and crashes into a defensive player holding the ball and waiting to apply a tag."

Perhaps it is good that "about to receive the ball," which was widely misinterpreted because it did not mean what it said literally, is gone. However, what do we call when a runner crashes a catcher who is juggling the ball or reaching down to pick up a ball at his feet?

Do we rely on last year's "throws the bat in anger" case play to call this runner out for USC?

[Note: For the post title, I originally entered "now that 'about to receive the ball' is gone." I guess it was too many words.]

[Edited by greymule on Feb 6th, 2004 at 12:49 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1