Crash rule
The crash rule now says, ". . . the runner must be called out if he remains on his feet and crashes into a defensive player holding the ball and waiting to apply a tag."
Perhaps it is good that "about to receive the ball," which was widely misinterpreted because it did not mean what it said literally, is gone. However, what do we call when a runner crashes a catcher who is juggling the ball or reaching down to pick up a ball at his feet?
Do we rely on last year's "throws the bat in anger" case play to call this runner out for USC?
[Note: For the post title, I originally entered "now that 'about to receive the ball' is gone." I guess it was too many words.]
[Edited by greymule on Feb 6th, 2004 at 12:49 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|