![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
The POE goes on to say the batter retains full rights to the full batter's box, so the catcher who moves up had better be able to get out of the way if the batter moves back again. The whole thing really just says that if the batter is at the front of the box, the umpire should allow the catcher to position him/herself reasonably in order to be able to catch the pitch. It doesn't say "on top" of the plate - it says "closer to" the plate. The front of the catcher's box is 3' behind the back corner of the plate (whatever that works out to behind the tip of the plate -- 2' 3" or so I thnk). Besides, IMO if this call has to be made, it indicates either, -- the umpire did not apply preventative umpiring and instruct the catcher to get back in the box / reasonably behind the batter (whatever), or -- the catcher is willfully ignoring the umpire's instuctions, and there are ample remedies to deal with that. caveat - answered from the perspective of JO ball. Adults may be another matter.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|