The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2003, 01:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The ONLY thing the infield fly does (assuming the ball remains fair, which yours didn't) is to remove the force by declaring the BR out.

Everything else remains the same as with any other fly ball.

Excerpt from ASA Rule 1 - INFIELD FLY:
"The ball is live and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught. The runners can tag up and advance once the batted ball is touched (prior to catching), the same as on any fly ball. If a declared infield fly becomes a foul ball, it is treated the same as any foul."

Notice: the same as on any fly ball... the same as any foul.

Same - same.

The thing about advancing once the ball is touched only applies "prior to catching" -- i.e. if the ball is caught eventually. Again, same as on any fly ball.

The mere call of infield fly does not anchor the runners to the base, but by removing the force, it allows them to stay on the base even if the ball is not caught.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1