The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Umpiire's Nightmare #1 for November downtime (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/10726-umpiires-nightmare-1-november-downtime.html)

MD Longhorn Fri Nov 07, 2003 10:22am

I don't think any tapping can really be considered "physically assisting". I think the intent of "physically assisting" was more along the lines of pushing the runner in a direction, helping the runner stop or turn (or get up), etc. By the strict dictionary definition of the rules, I can see a stretch to include a tap - but I truly don't think that could have been the intent of the rule-writers.

SamNVa Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:00am

Kudos to Dakota Tom
 
http://www.rockcitynews.com/art/art10/trophy.gif

Well, Tom gets the trophy for seeing the play as I envisioned it and making the "right" call.

<b>A NOTE ABOUT Umpire's Nightmares</b>

Umpire's Nightmare's are ficticious situations that I cook up in my addled barin from time to time when the board gets slow. They are game situations which could happen in a game but probably won't. :D They are complicated situations and generally involve a number of red herrings http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/mica/fishead.gif like the batter backing up and one nugget http://www.educate.net.au/feature_ar...old/nugget.gif which allows one to unravel the play. Their intent is to make you think about softball during the off season, maybe crack open a book or two and to spark some discussion.

<b>CAVEAT</b> The "correct" answers to the UNs are based on my interpretation of the rules, and since I <i>AM NOT</i> a certified rules guru, my interpretations have occasionally been wrong in the past, but hey. I like learning too. :D
Anyway, I hope you enjoy them.

SamC

chuck chopper Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:28am

I'm at work, don't have the rule book, defining catching ball off an offensive runner. However I don't see anything wrong with coach tap, stepping backwards by BR, etc. I say the play stands until I get the scoop on this catch thing !
.
Whats the rule state on one off an offensive player after being touched by the defense. Is it a trap ? Maybe thats what should had been called.

MD Longhorn Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:39am

It's a no catch.

The main sticking point here is the tap. Some of us believe that was inconsequential to the play, and others are including it in the definition of "physically assisting the runner". It's a good discussion.

SamNVa Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:47am

Chuck,

The relevant rules regarding the "catch" by F2 are:

ASA Rule 1-Catch-e: A ball which strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in-flight is ruled the same as if it had struck the ground.

and ASA Rule 8.8.F: the runner is NOT out when the runner is hit by fair batted ball after it touches or is touched by any fielder, including the pitcher, and the runner could not avoid contact with the ball.

Hope this clears up that part of the play for you.

SamC



chuck chopper Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:52am

Interpretation of rule one please. Is this ball still "in flight" after it was touched by the pitcher ?. Everyone is saying no catch..but I am wondering ?

Trinity Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:00pm

I don't have my ASA book with me at work, but I believe there is also a definition for "in flight" to answer your question as to whether or not the ball was still "in flight."

Ed

Dakota Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:01pm

From the most overlooked, ignored, and generally considered boring section of the rule book...

<font color=blue><b><big>RULE 1 - THE DEFINITIONS</BIG>
IN FLIGHT.</b> In flight is the term used for any batted, thrown or pitched ball which as not yet touched the ground or some object or person other than a fielder.</font>

chuck chopper Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:04pm

Gentleman, I believe we have an out on the catch. And yes definitions are boring & overlooked.

Dakota Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
Gentleman, I believe we have an out on the catch.
There is no catch because the ball was no longer "in flight" when it was "caught." It had already touched a person other than a fielder. Therefore, it is ruled as if it had touched the ground, and second bouncers are not catches.

whiskers_ump Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
Interpretation of rule one please. Is this ball still "in flight" after it was touched by the pitcher ?. Everyone is saying no catch..but I am wondering ?
ASA Rule 1 Definitions

IN FLIGHT: In flight is the term used for any batted ball
which has not yet touched the ground or some object or <u>person</u>
other than a <i>fielder</i>

Hope that clears it up for you.

glen

Dakota Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
And yes definitions are boring & overlooked.
chuck, perhaps you are not an umpire and so can be forgiven, or perhaps you are stating the obvious about the way coaches, etc., read the book, but no umpire has a chance in Hades of calling the game correctly without thoroughly understanding the Definitions rule. JMO.

[Edited by Dakota on Nov 7th, 2003 at 11:17 AM]

whiskers_ump Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:21pm

No wonder my originial post on the definition of 'in flight' would
not go....Tom was posting so quickly, his pushed mine back.
Sorry for the repeat on the answer.

glen

IRISHMAFIA Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:07pm

There is no doubt that the BR was not retired by the defense. The ball was not legally caught in flight and there is no penalty for a BR stepping backwards toward the plate unless to avoid an obvious tag.

The ONLY question in this play is the physical contact between the coach and BR.


Roger Greene Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:45pm

Well, since everybody else has jumped in, I'll add this for physically assisting.

There is a case play (sorry, I don't recall which code, it might even be a BB play) in which R3 tags and stands ready to run facing toward home on a fly ball to left field. As F7 touches the ball, the 3rd base coach "taps" the runner's back to let him know to run. The case play ruled the runner out for being "physically assisted."

Roger Greene


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1