![]() |
|
|||
May 2012, ASA Plays and Clarifications.
While not exactly what's in the OP, it's very similar. This would be a tough sell for a single umpire. PLAY: With 2 outs, R1 on 3B and a count of three balls and one strike on B4, the next pitch is a ball. The umpire calls ball but does not recognize it as ball four. The next pitch to the same batter is fouled off and the umpire gives the count as three balls and two strikes. In a) the offensive coach asks for time, approaches the plate umpire and says “their batter should be on 1B because the previous pitch was ball four.” In b) the umpire gives the count as three balls and two strikes and the next pitch is hit for a home run. Before a pitch to the next batter the defensive coach approaches the plate umpire and said the count was wrong and that player should have been walked. Ruling: In a) once the umpires get together, discuss the situation and discover the count was wrong, B4 should be awarded 1B since B4 should have received a base on balls two pitches before. In b) once the umpires get together, discuss the situation and discovered the count was wrong, B4 should be placed on 1B because B4 should have been awarded a base on balls two pitches before.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Lead-off Batter = On-Deck Batter? | Manny A | Softball | 14 | Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27am |
Fastpitch: Batter's Location in Batter's Box Compared to Plate | SoftballGuy247 | Softball | 43 | Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32am |
Wrong Way! Wrong Goal? | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 6 | Mon Nov 05, 2007 05:57pm |
When I'm Wrong, I'm wrong: Interference is better without intent | wadeintothem | Softball | 48 | Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:58am |
Wrong batter in ASA | TulsaRed | Softball | 8 | Fri May 20, 2005 01:24pm |