![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
An umpire asked me after the fact whether he should have let a run count on a third out. The runner had touched home before the timing play out.
The out was a live ball appeal on a tag up at first, he treated it as a "force" play. We don't need to discuss the rule or the ruling; which we know very well. This was an experienced umpire. What I would like is suggestions on how to better teach the rule, timing vs. force, force vs. tag, etc. or at least how to understand those who get it wrong.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. Last edited by Cecil4; Fri Jul 15, 2022 at 10:27am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
These are the comments I included in my monthly report to our association members. I cited USA rules because that is all we have this time of year.
------------------------------- Runs do not score if the play results in a third out which is a force or an out at first base. Runs do score if the runner touches home plate before a third out on a timing play, such as - a live ball appeal of a tag up or; - an appeal of a missed base, which was not a force out or an out at first base. USA Softball Rule 5, Section 5; Rules Supplement 43
__________________
Formerly CecilOne Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| He asked for it........ | just another ref | Basketball | 5 | Thu Jan 15, 2009 02:14pm |
| He asked | Rita C | Basketball | 2 | Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:56pm |
| Important lessons learned....and more questions asked | mattmets | Baseball | 29 | Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:59pm |
| Probably, Already Been Asked? | Time2Ref | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:34pm |
| He asked for it! | sir_eldren | Hockey | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 06:44am |