The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   I've Got Two Out, How 'Bout You? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/10570-ive-got-two-out-how-bout-you.html)

Trinity Sun Oct 26, 2003 07:08am

ASA Alleged Adult Slow Pitch

Before we start, keep in mind that our league allows ALL divisions to not run the bases on an over the fence HR. This information will help explain R1's actions on this play.

This was related to me by a 1st yr ump during football clinics Saturday so the only detail I have is what gets stated here, but I think its enough.

R1 on 1st, assuming less than two outs. Batter hits a long fly ball which bounces of the fence and back into the field of play where it is caught. BR passes R1 while rounding first. R1, thinking the ball is over the fence heads for the dugout. BR realizing the ball did not clear the fence, returns to 1b.

The ump relating the story does so with the recognition that he screwed up...he called R1 out, but for unknown reasons as R1 had not yet left the field of play when he rang him. I dunno? No one argued and he left it there. BR on 1st, R1 out for reasons unknown. He never said if there was a discussion with his partner. Knowing this association, I would assume no such conversation took place.

I'm thinking I would call BR out for passing R1, and R1 out for abandonment since he apparently never figured out that the ball did not clear the fence. Again, I wasn't there, I'm only going on what I was told, but I can't figure that R1 never saw the ball getting thrown about from the outfield to the infield to the pitcher, or where ever else the ball may have gone.

So, simply put, BR passes R1, R1 goes to the dugout.

Your turn....

Ed

ChampaignBlue Sun Oct 26, 2003 04:23pm

Hey Ed.

Depends, if the ump called R1 out before he entered the dugout then I believe that he put R1 in jeopardy. Why would R1 return to 1st after being called out? ASA 10-6-C

If, on the other hand, in the umps opinion he entered the dugout out of plain stupidity, I know it's hard to believe that happening, then you got two.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Oct 27, 2003 07:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Trinity
ASA Alleged Adult Slow Pitch

Before we start, keep in mind that our league allows ALL divisions to not run the bases on an over the fence HR. This information will help explain R1's actions on this play.

This was related to me by a 1st yr ump during football clinics Saturday so the only detail I have is what gets stated here, but I think its enough.

R1 on 1st, assuming less than two outs. Batter hits a long fly ball which bounces of the fence and back into the field of play where it is caught. BR passes R1 while rounding first. R1, thinking the ball is over the fence heads for the dugout. BR realizing the ball did not clear the fence, returns to 1b.

The ump relating the story does so with the recognition that he screwed up...he called R1 out, but for unknown reasons as R1 had not yet left the field of play when he rang him. I dunno? No one argued and he left it there. BR on 1st, R1 out for reasons unknown. He never said if there was a discussion with his partner. Knowing this association, I would assume no such conversation took place.

I'm thinking I would call BR out for passing R1, and R1 out for abandonment since he apparently never figured out that the ball did not clear the fence. Again, I wasn't there, I'm only going on what I was told, but I can't figure that R1 never saw the ball getting thrown about from the outfield to the infield to the pitcher, or where ever else the ball may have gone.

So, simply put, BR passes R1, R1 goes to the dugout.

Your turn....

Ed

Two outs AFTER R1 leaves the field of play. There is no ASA rule which allows an umpire to rule an active R/BR out for simply failing to advance or return to a base.

Young umpire did indeed screw up on this one. I'm sure you will set him straight, but don't do it just by giving him the answer. Let him look it up in the book if he hasn't already.


Trinity Mon Oct 27, 2003 09:34am

As mentioned, I was not there, so I don't really know what this R1 was doing. But I'm assuming the following...R1 is hanging around 1B to tag up should the ball be caught. BR passes R1, so I've got BR out at that point. I then px R1 wandering toward the dugout...or somewhere, confused. Perhaps he thinks he was the one called out. Nonetheless, he can wander all he wants until he hits the dugout...then he's out. I would hope that his team would holler at him to get back on the base, or the defense would figure out to tag him. Apparently, this did not happen. So I just wait and hope my partner doesn't call time. :)

Ed

Elaine "Lady Blue" Tue Oct 28, 2003 11:38am

Welcome back, Ed! I have missed you! http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/love.gif

I can't wait to start laughing and grinning at all your AA stories. I hope you're doing well!

http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/thumbs.gif


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1