The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Force at second if batter is out at first? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/105658-force-second-if-batter-out-first.html)

BDevil15 Thu Feb 24, 2022 10:59pm

Force at second if batter is out at first?

Ok, I am very new to softball coaching but played baseball like 40 years ago so forgive me. Does anyone have a rules citation for this play?

Runner at first with no outs. Runner takes a small lead and the ball is hit sharply to first. First baseman steps on first to put the batter out. Runner heads to second and slides into second just after the ball arives. There was no tag. Is this still a force when the runner behind her is already out? I though that she had to be tagged but was completely overruled. I can't find this specific situation in my brand new rulebook so hope someone can help.

Thanks,
Coach B

Crabby_Bob Fri Feb 25, 2022 12:50am

No, a tag is necessary. Overruled by whom? What rule book?

TexBlue Tue Mar 01, 2022 07:15am

When the BR was put out, the force no longer existed for the runner on first. A tag is necessary for the out.

Cliffdweller Mon Mar 07, 2022 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BDevil15 (Post 1047130)
Ok, I am very new to softball coaching but played baseball like 40 years ago so forgive me. Does anyone have a rules citation for this play?

Runner at first with no outs. Runner takes a small lead and the ball is hit sharply to first. First baseman steps on first to put the batter out. Runner heads to second and slides into second just after the ball arives. There was no tag. Is this still a force when the runner behind her is already out? I though that she had to be tagged but was completely overruled. I can't find this specific situation in my brand new rulebook so hope someone can help.

Thanks,
Coach B

Actually the runner would be out for "taking a small leadoff"...