The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
INT on an IF

IF situation. R1 fron 2B collides with F6 (camped out under the fly ball). INT called at the time of collision. If F6 somehow recovers and makes the catch, we still have both outs, correct?

NCAA ball, not that it's relevant.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Doesn't matter if F6 recovered and caught the ball or not. Infield fly, batter is out and you have a runner interfering with F6, immediate dead ball and runner is out for interference.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
An infield fly, under the infield fly rule, is just the same as any other fly ball except the batter runner is automatically out to remove any force outs.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
An infield fly, under the infield fly rule, is just the same as any other fly ball except the batter runner is automatically out to remove any force outs.
Correct, but there are easier rules to apply:

Both NCAA (12.17.2.2 Effect Exception) and USA (8 7 J F) have explicit exceptions for interference by a runner on a fielder fielding a fly ball (of which the infield fly is an subset). Interference by a runner on a fielder effect: runner out, BR on first. But the exception(s) include the BR being also out (and USA takes if further, the ball does not need to be over fair territory; NCAA the ball has to be "fair"). Regardless of the infield situation, you get two outs either way.

I don't know why umpire want to get so much in a tizzy about the IFF and interference where these exceptions exist.

Now, NFHS is a different animal. NFHS does not have the exception to the runner interference. There is where you have to apply both rule effects (interference and IFF). I really wish NFHS would add the exception to make it the same as USA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1