The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2019, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Say it better II

Didnt want to hijack the other thread...

A similar scenario I posted in the past had a batter bunt the ball down, into the soft powder, up in the front corner of the BB, where it comes to a stop (completely in the box, completely in fair territory).

After hesitating, batter realizes its a fair ball, takes off, and comes in contact with the ball (both feet completely in the box).

Has she not contacted a fair batted ball, and (possibly) interfered with the defense's chance of making an out?

Again, NCAA is the only one I'm aware of that states in B&W that if a foot is in the box, it is a foul ball. Which is weird, because it's a fair ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2019, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
The rule makes no distinction about a batter/runner being in or out of the box if they are the ones that initiate the contact with the ball. If the batter runner contacts a fair batted ball they are out. The rule applies to a batted ball that comes back and hits them.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2019, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I always look at this as did the ball hit the batter or did the batter hit the ball.

If the former, and itís in the batterís box, then foul ball.

If the latter, and itís fair, then interference and batter out.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39pm.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1