The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2019, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,287
Understanding an interference rule

This is just for understanding, although if not understood, maybe concern on how to call a play and how to teach.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Play: (Fast Pitch) With less than two outs and 1B is unoccupied. B2 swings and misses strike three. F2 misses the ball and it bounds off the catcher and under the feet of B2 on their way to 1B. B2 unintentionally kicks the ball when out of the batter's box. What is the call?

Ruling: If the umpire judged that the kicking of the ball by B2 impeded, hindered or confused F2 or F3 making a play we have interference with a dropped third strike. The ball is dead and B2 is out. Rule 8, Section 2, Article F [6].
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I understand that the rule item 6 says “with a dropped strike”, but I don’t get why that is different than items 3 and 4.

The Ruling says interference if the contact with the ball “impeded, hindered or confused F2 or F3”; which implies that the BR has to interfere with a fielder, not just the ball, similar to item 2.
Why do items 3 and 6 only say “ball” when they mean “ball and fielder”?

Is “unintentionally” in the play just to force thinking, or because it was copied from an old play; or does this particular case treat intent differently?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2019, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,155
Is “unintentionally” in the play just to force thinking, or because it was copied from an old play; or does this particular case treat intent differently?

It might be there as a red herring. Wasn't it a few years back that the book removed references to "unintentional"? Then it didn't matter if "it" was intentional or unintentional, it was still interference.

I think there's only a couple of instances now where an umpire would have to judge if the player did something intentionally. One example is if a runner is hit by a batted ball while in contact with a base. What's the other one or two?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2019, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,517
Has anyone else noticed how many INT plays have drawn out the word "intentional" in many discussions as something that is no longer included in the rules after decades of working well in the game of softball?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coaches understanding LGP bainsey Basketball 31 Tue Jan 06, 2015 01:50pm
Understanding the Infield Fly IRISHMAFIA Softball 21 Thu Oct 07, 2010 05:40pm
Understanding the DH and Subs Spence Baseball 5 Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:51am
ISF Obstruction rule without understanding (or training) Dakota Softball 5 Sat May 14, 2005 08:45am
Understanding Force mikesears Football 25 Thu Jul 10, 2003 01:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1