The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 13, 2003, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I found out last night that the girls' FP tourney I'm doing this weekend will be NSA, not ASA.

I'm trying to get ahold of the NSA book, but in the meantime, does anybody know key differences between NSA and ASA?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 13, 2003, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Cool It's been a while

Some of the differences I remember was they use EP's and they can have two of them in the lineup and a Sub can only come in one time. These may have change BUT they do have their rule book on their website check it out. If you cant locate it let me know I will get for ya


Don
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 13, 2003, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
I found out last night that the girls' FP tourney I'm doing this weekend will be NSA, not ASA.

I'm trying to get ahold of the NSA book, but in the meantime, does anybody know key differences between NSA and ASA?
greymule,

There are several differences between NSA and ASA. As Don noted,
two EP's may be used. A DH may also be utilized. When 2 EP's
are used, team must bat 11 - any nine play defense.

CR's for F1 or F2 are last player to make an out.

Fake tags - offender is ejected.

OBS in rundown - lead base is always rewarded.

No IFR in 10U.

One offensive conference per inning, if another is called strike on Batter.

I think their rule book is at following site:

http://www.PLAYNSA.com

Good Luck

glen

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2003, 06:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
I found out last night that the girls' FP tourney I'm doing this weekend will be NSA, not ASA.

I'm trying to get ahold of the NSA book, but in the meantime, does anybody know key differences between NSA and ASA?
Assuming you are not registered with NSA, I hope you have NASO or NFHS insurance as ASA will not cover you.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2003, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The tourney is making us NSA members and paying our dues, so I guess we're covered by insurance. On the other hand, maybe I should umpire under an assumed name, like Scott Peterson or Baghdad Bob.

Thanks for the input. I will check out the NSA rule book. Earlier this year, I did a Pony tournament and supposedly the runner was always awarded the next base on obstruction, but a check of Pony rules showed contradictory statements. Maybe NSA uses the same book.

Appreciate the help. Last tourney of the year (sniff!).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2003, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Greymule,
Haven't checked the book or done any Pony SB since last year's nationals, but Pony has the same obstruction rule as Fed(and ASA I believe) except that a runner IN A RUNDOWN who is obstructed is always awarded the advance base.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2003, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes, I just checked the NSA book on line, and obstruction during a rundown always results in giving the runner the advance base. Otherwise, the rule does look the same as ASA's.

It appears that there are other significant differences, too, and not just in substitutions. For example, a batter-runner who uses the white portion of the safety base on a first play at 1B is out automatically. Apparently even if she beats the throw, it's not considered a missed base, and even if the throw gets away, the BR is out.

And automatic ejection for fake tag, whether the runner reacts or not. Looks as if the crash rule is different, too. The fielder has to have the ball (nothing concerning "about to receive"), and the runner must apply "great force."

Guess I have some more reading to do before Saturday.

[Edited by greymule on Oct 14th, 2003 at 10:02 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2003, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
We'll expect a full report on Monday.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1