![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Otherwise, the runner ran outside of her protection and is liable to be put out
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Top of the first inning, R1 on 2B, 2 outs. B4 hit a squirrelly little ground ball to the pitcher's right. F1 fielded it and threw to F3, but the throw was down by the BR's feet. Between F3 reaching for the ball and B4 trying to get to 1B, there was a collision and both players went down. The ball caromed off the players to the fence. As B4 tried to get up to go to 2B, she was OBS by F3 trying to chase down the loose ball.
At that point I called OBS. R1 rounded third and headed for home when she saw the ball go to the fence. Once B4 got up, she started to go to 2B with the coach yelling at her to "Go! Go! Go!" By this time F3 had retrieved the ball and started back toward the infield. B4 thought better of trying to go to 2B and instead headed back to 1B. Now it was a race to see who'd get there first. I had come inside once the ball got past F3 and had taken a couple of steps toward 2B when B4 initially thought about going. Now I had to try to get closer to 1B for the play there. Both players dove for the base. I clearly did not have the preferred 90-degree angle and was probably about 15' away from 1B when I called the runner safe. By this time, R1 had scored. I called time out, and because I had the OBS call, announced that I had OBS on F3, but that B4 would remain at first base. ------------------------------------------------------------- It looks like there were 2 OBS, although the before 1st is not clear; collisions are not always OBS or INT. The OBS at/after 1st is clear as called. That OBS occurred. We apply the result of an OBS based on where we judge the runner would have ended up without the OBS. With the ball quickly retrieved by F3, there appears no chance the runner could reach 2nd safely. The runner is protected from being out between 1st and 2nd because of the later OBS; therefore is placed at 1st.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Point of order (chair recognizes the gentleman from PA). In USA Softball:
A - If a runner and fielder collide while the fielder is playing (rule 1: play) on a batted ball, this is INT. B - If a runner and fielder collide while the fielder is not playing the ball and NOT in possession of the ball, this is OBS. C - If a runner and fielder collide (and is the only "hindrance" i.e. there is no other hindrance or impediment) while the fielder is not playing the ball and the ball and runner "arrive at the same time", then you would not have obstruction. However, this is a very narrow "window" of time to happen. D - If a runner and fielder collide while the fielder is not playing the ball and in possession of the ball, this could be: a) nothing, b) crash (8 8 Q 1,2) with an out only or c) crash with an out and ejection (8 8 Q 4). While your statement is true, we need to train to make the judgement scenarios A and B. Scenario C is very very very low probability. Collisions will most likely have some result other than "nothing." The bad throw that pulls F3 into BR is obstruction. |
|
|||
Quote:
For those of you in the camp that OBS occurred before first base, would you suggest that there should have been 2 OBS calls? "Obstruction...Obstruction."
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Think about it: with the way the rule is written now, there is no "wriggle room" for collisions; possession is the key. If the throw pulls F3 into the runner, we have obstruction. But if the "hindrance" happened at the moment the fielder gained possession (i.e. "the EXACT moment") then we have the old fashioned train wreck. It is still (theoretically) possible, not not likely. Like I say, a very narrow window of time. Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
We've all seen this scenario: base hit to the outfield; BR hustling all the way and takes a hard turn at first base when 3 or 4 steps later she runs right into F3 who is standing there. Runner did not intentionally run into F3, but couldn't avoid her. Ball is fielded cleanly and returned promptly to the infield. I have OBS, runner protected between first and second, but don't believe she would have made second absent the OBS. What usually happens is the runner returns to first base, the first base coach complains about the OBS, and I say, yes, runner was OBS and I made that call. Next batter.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
My comments only apply to the given statement which means that all impediment occurred prior to the BR reaching 1B, hence there is no protection to 2B unless you judged the runner would have reached 2B sans the hindrance. However, since you did not award 2B to the OBS runner, that was not your belief which means she ran out of protective coverage and is liable to be put out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
OK, I read
"As B4 tried to get up to go to 2B, she was OBS by F3 trying to chase down the loose ball." as on the base, having reached it after the initial collision. Irish & others apparently read that as before 1st base. ![]() No wonder we don't agree. ----- My post 2 days ago: "Still, I think and hope that all 4 of us would be more in sync seeing the actual play, rather than the written description." There were only 4 at that time, Young and Slick later, so now I would say the same about 6 of us. ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
"If I'm reading this right, the OBS was between home and 1B. If that is the case, your protection would have to be to 2B for protection to exist beyond 1B. That means your award should have been 2B. However, by making the award 1B, you have basically stated your protection ended @ 1B." I'll say that I didn't call the "first OBS", the one you identified as happening before the runner reached first base. I'm not getting your comment in red above. Now I called the "second OBS", where the runner is on first base trying to get up. Since I called OBS there, the runner is protected between first and second. That doesn't mean the award should have been 2B. That is my judgment.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
World Series call/no call discussion | SWFLguy | Softball | 24 | Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:15pm |
Protested the Game | RookieDude | Basketball | 9 | Mon Oct 29, 2012 01:51pm |
Urgent Protested Game Question | CoachCanavan | Softball | 11 | Fri May 14, 2004 04:08pm |
Protested game | greymule | Softball | 9 | Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:16am |
Protested ruling | droobie | Baseball | 1 | Fri Jun 07, 2002 07:16pm |