The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   USA Softball - Interference - Thrown ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103930-usa-softball-interference-thrown-ball.html)

Manny A Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023349)
That does not matter. The rule does not differentiate between a runner or a retired runner except to determine which runner ends up being called out. The rule states "the runner is out...when the runner interferes...." There is not a separate rule for retired runners. Only the EFFECT is different because you can't call a retired runner out.

Well, I don't have the rule book in front of me since I'm on travel right now. But I'm pretty sure there is a separate rule that deals with retired runners. It says something like, "When after being put out or after scoring, a player interferes with the defense's opportunity to make a play on another runner." It is a little more open-ended to interpretation on what that retired runner does, regardless of intent.

jmkupka Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023365)
Actually, yes we are if she's in the last half of the way to first. By rule, she is required to be in the runner's lane.

From what I've learned here, a running lane violation is when a Batter-Runner interferes with a ball thrown from the area of home plate.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023367)
Well, I don't have the rule book in front of me since I'm on travel right now. But I'm pretty sure there is a separate rule that deals with retired runners. It says something like, "When after being put out or after scoring, a player interferes with the defense's opportunity to make a play on another runner." It is a little more open-ended to interpretation on what that retired runner does, regardless of intent.

Nope. It's part of the same rule. Simply says if the runner is already out, the runner nearest home at the time of the interference is called out.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1023369)
From what I've learned here, a running lane violation is when a Batter-Runner interferes with a ball thrown from the area of home plate.

Running lane violation is for anytime the runner is running outside the lane and interferes with a play at first.

jmkupka Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:40pm

Nah, F6 trying to turn a double play and hits BR out of the running lane ain't gettin a call from me...

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1023372)
Nah, F6 trying to turn a double play and hits BR out of the running lane ain't gettin a call from me...

Well, it should if F3 is stretching for the ball and gets handcuffed by BR inside the baseline. Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Just do a search for "interference running lane 3" and you'll see interference by a BR on a throw from 3B.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 26, 2018 08:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023375)
Well, it should if F3 is stretching for the ball and gets handcuffed by BR inside the baseline. Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Not if the umpire judges it did not interfere with the fielder taking the throw

CecilOne Thu Jul 26, 2018 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023375)
Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Not in the rule book. :rolleyes:

Manny A Thu Jul 26, 2018 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023370)
Nope. It's part of the same rule. Simply says if the runner is already out, the runner nearest home at the time of the interference is called out.

Now that I have the rule book in front of me:

Quote:

Rule 8, Section 7P: "When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner. A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference. This does not apply to a batter-runner who is entitled to run on the dropped third strike rule.

Effect: "1: The ball is dead. 2: The runner closest to home is out. 3: Runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference."
It's not part of the same rule. Rule 8, Section 7J covers interference by an active runner, 7P a retired runner.

EricH Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023387)
It's not part of the same rule. Rule 8, Section 7J covers interference by an active runner, 7P a retired runner.

It is part of the same rule, 8.7, the runner is out. That's what I meant. But you're right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1