The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   USA Softball - Interference - Thrown ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103930-usa-softball-interference-thrown-ball.html)

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 02:41pm

USA Softball - Interference - Thrown ball
 
Getting ready to umpire my eleventh national next week, and I still have questions here and there.

Situation:

One out, runner on first (R1), batter (B1) hits a ground ball to F3, who throws to F6 at second base to turn a double play. The thrown ball hits R1 in the shoulder. In the umpire's judgment, F3 did not intentionally throw at R1, and R1 did not intentionally interfere with the throw. Both R1 and BR arrive at 2nd and 1st base safely before F4 retrieves the ball.

What is the result of the play?

The rulebook states only that a runner shall be declared out for interfering "with a thrown ball" - no mention of intentionality (thus the reason for my question).

RKBUmp Fri Jul 20, 2018 02:53pm

Running the bases is not an act of interference. Other than a batter runner between home and first, there is no penalty for a runner hit by a thrown ball unless they commit some act of interference.

josephrt1 Fri Jul 20, 2018 02:54pm

comment withdrawn: I misquoted the R/S.

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1023203)
Running the bases is not an act of interference. Other than a batter runner between home and first, there is no penalty for a runner hit by a thrown ball unless they commit some act of interference.

You could say the same about a fielder standing in the path of a base runner. He has not committed an ACT of obstruction, but he will be called for it anyway. So give me a better reason. Both definitions (of obstruction and interference) reference an "act." So we cannot hold the fielder to a higher standard than the runner.

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1023204)
check RS 33. runner interference includes: 3. Intentionally interfering with a thrown ball.

It does not sound like your situation was intentional.

The RULE states that the runner is called out for interfering with a thrown ball, NOT intentionally interfering.

josephrt1 Fri Jul 20, 2018 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023206)
The RULE states that the runner is called out for interfering with a thrown ball, NOT intentionally interfering.

No argument but there is clarification in the rule supplement that includes the word intentionally.

ASA/NYSSOBLUE Fri Jul 20, 2018 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023206)
The RULE states that the runner is called out for interfering with a thrown ball, NOT intentionally interfering.

But is NOT interfering simply by running the bases normally - they eliminated that in baseball 160 years ago. Unless that runner did something really to misdirect that ball - play ball! That was the reasoning behind the non call on Reggie Jackson in the 78 Series. (Just as a bit of trivia, what call did that crew REALLY blow on that play? No hints)

RKBUmp Fri Jul 20, 2018 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023205)
You could say the same about a fielder standing in the path of a base runner. He has not committed an ACT of obstruction, but he will be called for it anyway. So give me a better reason. Both definitions (of obstruction and interference) reference an "act." So we cannot hold the fielder to a higher standard than the runner.

No, a fielder just standing in a runners path is not automatically obstruction. There are 2 factors that must be met to have obstruction, 1, a fielder not in possession of the ball and not in the act of Fielding a batted ball in the runners way, and 2, some hindrance of the runner. Until both are met you do not have obstruction.

So no, a fielder is not guilty of obstruction for just being in a runner path until such time as the runner is actually impeded in some way.

CecilOne Fri Jul 20, 2018 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023202)
One out, runner on first (R1), batter (B1) hits a ground ball to F3, who throws to F6 at second base to turn a double play. The thrown ball hits R1 in the shoulder. In the umpire's judgment, F3 did not intentionally throw at R1, and R1 did not intentionally interfere with the throw. Both R1 and BR arrive at 2nd and 1st base safely before F4 retrieves the ball.

What is the result of the play?

Runners on 2nd and 1st, one out.

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1023211)
So no, a fielder is not guilty of obstruction for just being in a runner path until such time as the runner is actually impeded in some way.

Semantics

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 04:31pm

I'm actually looking for rules-based or point-of-emphasis-based answers here, not just quips or three-word responses. I found ONE rule clarification play on the USA Softball website that indicated a batter-runner COULD be ruled out for interfering with a throw home, even if the interference was not intentional, but it did not provide real guidance. It just indicated that he COULD be ruled out IF the umpire judged it to be interference (NOT intentional). How can you judge an UNINTENTIONAL act where a runner gets hit with a thrown ball as interference in one case but not another? THAT is what I am getting at here.

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE (Post 1023210)
they eliminated that in baseball 160 years ago

And in baseball, the interference must be INTENTIONAL. This is not a question about baseball.

RKBUmp Fri Jul 20, 2018 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023213)
Semantics

No, it is not semantics it is the rule. What you stated about a fielder being in the path of the runner being obstruction is not correct. Until such time as the runner is actually impeded it is nothing.

RKBUmp Fri Jul 20, 2018 05:08pm

You have been given the answer repeatedly. Unless the runner commits some act to interfere with the thrown ball such as slapping at it, purposely changing course to be hit by it etc, being hit by the throw is nothing. Running the bases is not an act of interference

You start calling that and you are going to start a beanball session by the defense to get easy outs. It has never been interpreted in any way that a runner hit by a thrown ball is interference unless they commit some act to interfere with the throw.

EricH Fri Jul 20, 2018 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1023217)
Unless the runner commits some act to interfere with the thrown ball such as slapping at it, purposely changing course to be hit by it etc, being hit by the throw is nothing.

No. Those are all INTENTIONAL. The rule book was changed, and as I stated above, the case I mentioned indicated that the runner can be ruled out even if the act is NOT intentional, but it did not provide an example.

Quote:

You start calling that and you are going to start a beanball session by the defense to get easy outs.
No. That results in ejections.

Quote:

It has never been interpreted in any way that a runner hit by a thrown ball is interference unless they commit some act to interfere with the throw.
Again, give me an act that can be ruled interference WITHOUT being intentional.

RKBUmp Fri Jul 20, 2018 05:26pm

Which case play or clarification are you talking about?

Manny A Fri Jul 20, 2018 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1023204)
check RS 33. runner interference includes: 3. Intentionally interfering with a thrown ball.

It does not sound like your situation was intentional.

My rule book under RS 33 doesn't mention the word "intentionally". You may be referencing an older rule book.

Manny A Fri Jul 20, 2018 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1023221)
Which case play or clarification are you talking about?

So I think this is the play he mentioned. It's in the April 2012 Plays and Clarifications on the USA Softball website.

Quote:

PLAY: With R1 on 3B and one out, B3 hits a ground ball to F3. R1 tries to advance home as F3 throws home and hits B3 who is running outside the three-foot lane. Do we have interference on B3 for not running in the three-foot lane?

RULING: B3 is not out for being out of the three-foot lane but could be called out for interference, if in the umpire’s judgment B3 committed interference. The three-foot lane only applies to the Batter-Runner when running to first base and the throw is to first base.

Rule 8, Section 2E: When the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the umpire’s judgment, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base….. However there could be Interference by the Batter-Runner if in the judgment of the umpire, the Batter-Runner impeded, hindered or confused the defensive player attempting to execute a play.
(Rule 1 - Definitions), or Rule 8 Section 7J [3] When a runner interferes:
1. With a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3. With a thrown ball.

EFFECT: If this interference, in the umpire’s judgment is an attempt to prevent
a double play and occurs before the runner is put out, the immediate
trailing runner shall also be called out.
4. Intentionally with any defensive player having the opportunity to make
an out with the deflected batted ball.

The three-foot lane is not a factor when the throw comes from the fielder at 1B back toward home plate. It should be judged the same as a throw from 1B to 2B, 2B to 3B or 3B to home plate. If the umpire judges interference per Rule 8, Section 7J [3] then you could have the Batter-Runner out on interference. However whether the Batter-Runner was in the three-foot lane or not has no bearing on this play.
So how do you judge that a runner interferes with a thrown ball without doing something intentional, like waving the arms or throwing the Reggie Jackson hip at the ball? Well, interference requires the offensive player to make an act that interferes. How is simply running the bases considered an act? Is this runner supposed to stop trying to advance directly to her base because she might get hit in the shoulder with the throw? That's preposterous.

Now, if she had started running to second base well inside the diamond so that she puts herself between F3 and second base (similar to the batter-runner in the case play running well into fair territory instead of going into the runner's lane), that might be an issue. There's no need, in that case, to judge whether or not the runner did it intentionally.

But going straight to second base from first base? Nope, no way that's an act that causes interference.

RKBUmp Fri Jul 20, 2018 08:40pm

Manny, I saw that play but wasn't sure it was the one he was talking about. That play doesn't say being hit by a throw is interference, it says if the umpire judges the runner committed interference. As you said, simply running the bases is NOT interference, it requires some act to be committed other than running straight to the base.

josephrt1 Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023226)
My rule book under RS 33 doesn't mention the word "intentionally". You may be referencing an older rule book.

You are correct, sorry. the R/S does not say intentional.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023206)
The RULE states that the runner is called out for interfering with a thrown ball, NOT intentionally interfering.

Here we go again.

You are working your 11th national and this is a question?

Try reading the definition of interference, the word "act" is part of the definition.

And, while you are at it, check the definition of obstruction and see if you can find the word or requirement of an "act" of obstruction.

EricH Mon Jul 23, 2018 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023239)
You are working your 11th national and this is a question?

Try being helpful instead of condescending.

I was asking because the removal of the wording about intentionality makes it difficult. I have a hard time coming up with a situation where an offensive player might unintentionally interfere with a thrown ball; thus, my reason for asking the question. The only situation I can think of is a runner who has been put out trying to get out of the way but ends up in the way as a result of his action.

Quote:

Try reading the definition of interference, the word "act" is part of the definition.

And, while you are at it, check the definition of obstruction and see if you can find the word or requirement of an "act" of obstruction.
"Obstruction is the act of a defensive team member..."

Sorry it took me so long to respond. I was umpiring a men's fp tourn this weekend.

EricH Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023227)
So I think this is the play he mentioned. It's in the April 2012 Plays and Clarifications on the USA Softball website.



So how do you judge that a runner interferes with a thrown ball without doing something intentional, like waving the arms or throwing the Reggie Jackson hip at the ball? Well, interference requires the offensive player to make an act that interferes. How is simply running the bases considered an act? Is this runner supposed to stop trying to advance directly to her base because she might get hit in the shoulder with the throw? That's preposterous.

Now, if she had started running to second base well inside the diamond so that she puts herself between F3 and second base (similar to the batter-runner in the case play running well into fair territory instead of going into the runner's lane), that might be an issue. There's no need, in that case, to judge whether or not the runner did it intentionally.

But going straight to second base from first base? Nope, no way that's an act that causes interference.

Yes. That is the play I was referencing. And no, it is not clear what is meant. (I think this is the ONLY play in the rules clarifications where they equivocate on whether a play IS or IS NOT ruled a particular way. Strange.) Technically running IS an act. We expect defensive players to know where runners are to avoid obstructing a runner. Why not expect runners to know where the ball is to avoid interfering with a throw?

My point throughout this thread has been: Why are we so hard on fielders but so easy on runners? There is no difference in the wording of the definitions, so why is one officiated more strictly than the other? (I confirmed that both definitions contain wording "the act of....") Consider a fielder and runner both converging at 2nd base. In case 1, the fielder collides with the runner without the ball. (His act was running to the bag for a throw.) In case 2, the runner gets hit by the throw before arriving at the base. (His act was also running to the bag.) Why should the fielder be called for obstruction, when his act was just as unintentional as the runner's? The fielder's act (running to the base) impeded the runner, and the runner's act (running to the base) interfered with the throw. Same act, different ruling?

EricH Mon Jul 23, 2018 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023227)
Is this runner supposed to stop trying to advance directly to her base because she might get hit in the shoulder with the throw? That's preposterous.

Why is that preposterous? The runner is supposed to stop trying to advance directly to her base because she might get hit in the legs with the batted ball. The only difference is how the ball got there. We do, after all, call the batter-runner out for interference if she gets hit while outside the running lane with a ball thrown to first, no matter her intention, if it actually interferes with the play.

Rich Ives Mon Jul 23, 2018 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023282)
Why is that preposterous? The runner is supposed to stop trying to advance directly to her base because she might get hit in the legs with the batted ball. The only difference is how the ball got there. We do, after all, call the batter-runner out for interference if she gets hit while outside the running lane with a ball thrown to first, no matter her intention, if it actually interferes with the play.

If no intent is required then all a fielder has to do is intentionally hit a runner with the ball to get an out.

EricH Mon Jul 23, 2018 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 1023283)
If no intent is required then all a fielder has to do is intentionally hit a runner with the ball to get an out.

You said "intentionally." If a defensive player intentionally throws at a runner, that player can be ejected.

Why does no one actually address the rules involved? Is it too difficult?

EricH Mon Jul 23, 2018 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1023228)
simply running the bases is NOT interference, it requires some act to be committed other than running straight to the base.

The rule does not say: "Interference is an act other than running straight to the base...."

It says: "Interference is an act...."

RKBUmp Mon Jul 23, 2018 04:45pm

Go ahead and call it interference if you want. You have been told repeatedly it is not Interference for simply running to a base and being hit by a throw. Every person who has responded has told you the same thing and you are still arguing it. If you are so convinced you are right then why even bother asking the question.

Umpire@1 Mon Jul 23, 2018 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023239)
Here we go again.

You are working your 11th national and this is a question?

Try reading the definition of interference, the word "act" is part of the definition.

And, while you are at it, check the definition of obstruction and see if you can find the word or requirement of an "act" of obstruction.

Irish, that is some funny stuff right there. I had the exact same thought when I read the original post.
This play has been a subject for debate in our area for a long time, and you just can’t get some umpires to understand the intent of the rules sometimes.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 23, 2018 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023269)
Try being helpful instead of condescending.

I was asking because the removal of the wording about intentionality makes it difficult. I have a hard time coming up with a situation where an offensive player might unintentionally interfere with a thrown ball; thus, my reason for asking the question. The only situation I can think of is a runner who has been put out trying to get out of the way but ends up in the way as a result of his action.

It was a serious question. This is not a new rule. It took effect in 2006

These are plays presented at the first National UIC Clinic after the rule change.

In the first, there is no problem with the runner until he stands up into the throw. The fact the ball hit the runner in itself is nothing. The act of interference was the retired runner standing up into the path of the throw:

SITUATION 5: R1 on 1B and B2 hits a ground ball to F5 who throws to F4 covering 2B. R1 on their way to B falls down and then stands up as F4 is throwing to 1B for a double play. The ball hits R1 in the back before B2 reaches 1B

RULING: Interference is called on R1 and B2 is called out at 1B. Rule 8 Section 7J and P

In the second play, in the second the runner proceeded toward the base as expected even after being put out. BTW, the point that the runner was sliding is irrelevant to the rule

SITUATION 6: With no outs, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B and R3 on 1B, B4 hits a hard ground ball to F6 who flips he ball to F4 on 2B to force out R3. In an attempt to turn a double play, F4’s throw to 1B hits R3 who is sliding into 2B.

RULING: This is not interference. B2 has a clean slide into 2B. Just because F4 makes an errant throw, the offensive team should not be punished. The ball remains live and the play continues. Rule 8 Section 7J3

Manny A Tue Jul 24, 2018 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023282)
Why is that preposterous? The runner is supposed to stop trying to advance directly to her base because she might get hit in the legs with the batted ball. The only difference is how the ball got there. We do, after all, call the batter-runner out for interference if she gets hit while outside the running lane with a ball thrown to first, no matter her intention, if it actually interferes with the play.

Think about it, Eric. If it was truly interference when a runner gets hit with a thrown ball, why have a runner's lane to begin with? If the batter-runner was running inside the lane and got hit with the throw, wouldn't she be out for interference then? Or are you now suggesting that the runner's lane is the only safe area in the 240 feet of base path that the runner can get hit by a throw, and she would not be guilty of anything? She's got 30 feet out of the 240 feet where she doesn't have to worry about getting hit with a throw, but the other 210, watch out! She gets hit then, she's interfering? Really??

Yes, I stand by my characterization that it's preposterous to require the runner to have eyes in the back of her head to know that a throw is coming at her from behind, and she has to somehow avoid it.

I honestly don't know why the rulesmakers removed the word "intentionally" from the what constitutes runner's interference with a thrown ball. The NCAA rule book still has the word "intentionally" in the rule. So does the NFHS rule book. Why ASA (and now USA) took that out is beyond me. But there's no way they did so to penalize a runner anytime she's contacted with a thrown ball.

It may be that they just wanted to penalize runners for doing something dumb, but not wantonly intentional, that hinders play. For example, runners at first and third, one out. Fly ball to right field, and the runner from first, thinking there were two outs, takes off for second without tagging up. She rounds second going for third when she hears her base coach telling her to go back to first base. So she takes of directly from the shortstop area back to first without thinking about retouching second base on the way. The right fielder catches the fly ball as the runner from third base tags up and tries to score. The throw comes in, and it hits the runner going back to first base somewhere between the pitcher's circle and the bag.

I can see where that runner should be called out for interference. Did she do something with intent to interfere? No. But did she run the bases in a legitimate fashion per the rules? Not really; she failed to tag up on the fly ball, and then she failed to return to first base properly by not retouching second on the way back. She basically put herself into no-man's land, and subsequently got hit with the throw. She had no business being where she was, so although she didn't do anything intentional, she did interfere with the throw home.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1023289)
If you are so convinced you are right then why even bother asking the question.

I never claimed that the rule meant definitively that any runner hit by any thrown ball committed interference. I was asking for rules clarifications one way or another.

I'm not convinced anyone is right because no one had said "here's what rule X says" or "such and such rule clarification says." I'm simply looking for umpires who actually have some knowledge to provide it, instead of "hey, obviously this can't be what is meant by the rule."

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023308)
It may be that they just wanted to penalize runners for doing something dumb, but not wantonly intentional, that hinders play. For example, runners at first and third, one out. Fly ball to right field, and the runner from first, thinking there were two outs, takes off for second without tagging up. She rounds second going for third when she hears her base coach telling her to go back to first base. So she takes of directly from the shortstop area back to first without thinking about retouching second base on the way. The right fielder catches the fly ball as the runner from third base tags up and tries to score. The throw comes in, and it hits the runner going back to first base somewhere between the pitcher's circle and the bag.

I can see where that runner should be called out for interference. Did she do something with intent to interfere? No. But did she run the bases in a legitimate fashion per the rules? Not really; she failed to tag up on the fly ball, and then she failed to return to first base properly by not retouching second on the way back. She basically put herself into no-man's land, and subsequently got hit with the throw. She had no business being where she was, so although she didn't do anything intentional, she did interfere with the throw home.

That's a good example.

Also this from the March 2007 rules clarifications:

Quote:

SITUATION 3: With no outs and R1 at 1B, B2 hits a ground ball to F6 who fields the ball and throws to F4 at 2B to start a double play. F4 steps on 2B and throws the ball to F3 in an attempt to retire B2. R1, knowing they are out, turns to go back to the dugout where the ball strikes them in the back and ricochets into foul ground. RULING: R1 is guilty of interference after being declared out. In this case, because B2 is the only runner and therefore closest to home plate, B2 is also be declared out. (Rule 8, Section 7 J [3])
This one is interesting because I think a lot of umpires would let play continue with no call of interference.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 08:47am

I had a similar play to the following come up several times during the men's fp tournament this weekend (luckily no one got hit by the throws):

R1 on 1B, 1 out, B2 hits a slow grounder to F4, who makes a quick sidearm throw to F6 to retire R1 at 2B. R1, realizing he will be out, slightly changes his course to the right field side of the base path and gets hit by the throw.

I have interference here. Anyone disagree?

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023313)
I had a similar play to the following come up several times during the men's fp tournament this weekend (luckily no one got hit by the throws):

R1 on 1B, 1 out, B2 hits a slow grounder to F4, who makes a quick sidearm throw to F6 to retire R1 at 2B. R1, realizing he will be out, slightly changes his course to the right field side of the base path and gets hit by the throw.

I have interference here. Anyone disagree?

No one should because by changing his path, he committed an act of interference. If he just stopped or stayed the course, the defender doesn't have to guess where the retired runner is going to go when attempting to make a play at first.

That is their reason for removing "intent" from the rule. In your scenario, many umpires would state that they wouldn't rule INT simply because they could not tell if the runner intentionally move into the defender's throw or if it was just an accident on the retired runner's part.

Again, it isn't getting hit be the throw that demands the INT ruling, it was the retired runner moving from where he was supposed to be prior to being hit by the throw.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 01:56pm

And that's how we can post an honest question and use logic, rules, and rules clarifications, to come to an answer.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 24, 2018 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023308)
Think about it, Eric. If it was truly interference when a runner gets hit with a thrown ball, why have a runner's lane to begin with? If the batter-runner was running inside the lane and got hit with the throw, wouldn't she be out for interference then? Or are you now suggesting that the runner's lane is the only safe area in the 240 feet of base path that the runner can get hit by a throw, and she would not be guilty of anything? She's got 30 feet out of the 240 feet where she doesn't have to worry about getting hit with a throw, but the other 210, watch out! She gets hit then, she's interfering? Really??

Yes, I stand by my characterization that it's preposterous to require the runner to have eyes in the back of her head to know that a throw is coming at her from behind, and she has to somehow avoid it.

I honestly don't know why the rulesmakers removed the word "intentionally" from the what constitutes runner's interference with a thrown ball. The NCAA rule book still has the word "intentionally" in the rule. So does the NFHS rule book. Why ASA (and now USA) took that out is beyond me. But there's no way they did so to penalize a runner anytime she's contacted with a thrown ball.

It may be that they just wanted to penalize runners for doing something dumb, but not wantonly intentional, that hinders play. For example, runners at first and third, one out. Fly ball to right field, and the runner from first, thinking there were two outs, takes off for second without tagging up. She rounds second going for third when she hears her base coach telling her to go back to first base. So she takes of directly from the shortstop area back to first without thinking about retouching second base on the way. The right fielder catches the fly ball as the runner from third base tags up and tries to score. The throw comes in, and it hits the runner going back to first base somewhere between the pitcher's circle and the bag.

I can see where that runner should be called out for interference. Did she do something with intent to interfere? No. But did she run the bases in a legitimate fashion per the rules? Not really; she failed to tag up on the fly ball, and then she failed to return to first base properly by not retouching second on the way back. She basically put herself into no-man's land, and subsequently got hit with the throw. She had no business being where she was, so although she didn't do anything intentional, she did interfere with the throw home.

I'm going to play devil's advocate on the highlighted section.

You'd call interference on the runner because of her position on the field? Runners can establish their own basepath.

You'd NOT call interference if the runner had "properly retouched" second base on her way back to first base?

The defense has options here of appealing (live) the runner getting back to first base in time or (dead) appealing the runner missing second base on her return to first base.

I don't think we can call a runner out for INT because we think she "wasn't in the right place".

A runner takes a wide turn at first base on a ball that F1 overthrows. F4 retrieves the ball that bounced off the fence and the throw hits the runner on her way to second base. INT? Heck no.

A runner retreating to first base after a line drive is caught by F6 who then throws to F3 trying for a double play. Ball hits runner in the backside. INT? Heck no.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023329)
I don't think we can call a runner out for INT because we think she "wasn't in the right place".

And your response to my "SITUATION 3" above? The only reason "after being declared out" in the situation matters is to determine which runner(s) is(/are) called out (it has no bearing on whether the runner has the right to be there or not). The runner in that situation had far better reason to be where she was than a runner in the middle of the diamond.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 24, 2018 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023334)
And your response to my "SITUATION 3" above? The only reason "after being declared out" in the situation matters is to determine which runner(s) is(/are) called out (it has no bearing on whether the runner has the right to be there or not). The runner in that situation had far better reason to be where she was than a runner in the middle of the diamond.

First of all, situation 3 is dealing with a retired runner (i.e. not a runner).

Secondly, the retired runner committed an act of interference.

Thirdly, by inference, when the runner committed said act of interference, it did have a bearing on whether the runner had the right to be where she ended up. (Hint: She didn't.)

Manny A Wed Jul 25, 2018 04:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023329)
I'm going to play devil's advocate on the highlighted section.

You'd call interference on the runner because of her position on the field? Runners can establish their own basepath.

You'd NOT call interference if the runner had "properly retouched" second base on her way back to first base?

The defense has options here of appealing (live) the runner getting back to first base in time or (dead) appealing the runner missing second base on her return to first base.

I don't think we can call a runner out for INT because we think she "wasn't in the right place".

A runner takes a wide turn at first base on a ball that F1 overthrows. F4 retrieves the ball that bounced off the fence and the throw hits the runner on her way to second base. INT? Heck no.

A runner retreating to first base after a line drive is caught by F6 who then throws to F3 trying for a double play. Ball hits runner in the backside. INT? Heck no.

I was just trying to come up with a scenario to answer Eric’s question how a runner can do something unintentionally that can be considered interference with a thrown ball. If you can come up with something better, be my guest. There has to be something out there that can reasonably justify why ASA unilaterally decided to get rid of the word “intentionally” from the rule. No other sanction that I’m aware of did that.

It’s easier to come up with situations where a retired runner does something unintentional that subsequently interferes. A runner scores, and on her way back to the dugout, she crosses in front of home plate and gets hit by a throw home. Or a runner retired on the front end of a DP slides into the bag with her hands raised and the throw to first hits one of her hands. Those are no-brainers to me.

But how does an active runner interfere with a thrown ball with no intent? IMO, she has to do something so out of the realm of reason when it comes to running the bases, that she deserves to be called on it. The scenario I posed was something I thought met that thought process. Yes, runners can make their own base paths, but there has to be a balance between legitimate base running and just being anywhere on the field that doesn't make much sense.

Something like that must've happened that compelled OKC to change the rule. I wasn't umpiring softball back in 2006 to know why they did it. It makes no sense to me why they removed intent from the rule.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023342)
It makes no sense to me why they removed intent from the rule.

I can tell you why. It's much easier to judge actions than intent. If we call a runner out for intentionally interfering, he can argue it wasn't intentional. If we don't call a runner out, the defense can argue that it was intentional. We are in effect dealing with the runner's thought process rather than his action. I'm sure the ASA decided it was much easier to rule on what the runner did instead of why he did it.

Now, no one can argue "it was/was not intentional."

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023336)
First of all, situation 3 is dealing with a retired runner (i.e. not a runner).

That does not matter. The rule does not differentiate between a runner or a retired runner except to determine which runner ends up being called out. The rule states "the runner is out...when the runner interferes...." There is not a separate rule for retired runners. Only the EFFECT is different because you can't call a retired runner out.

Quote:

Secondly, the retired runner committed an act of interference.
The retired runner ran back to the dugout. This is splitting hairs that you earlier didn't like me doing.

Quote:

Thirdly, by inference, when the runner committed said act of interference, it did have a bearing on whether the runner had the right to be where she ended up. (Hint: She didn't.)
The runner did have a right to be where she was; she just didn't have a right to do what she did. It was her "act," not her location, that got her in trouble. If she had stood still where she was, I guarantee the result of the play would have been no interference.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 25, 2018 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023329)

I don't think we can call a runner out for INT because we think she "wasn't in the right place".

Well, yes you can. That is why if a runner deviates from an established or obvious path and interferes with the throw, it is INT
Quote:


A runner takes a wide turn at first base on a ball that F1 overthrows. F4 retrieves the ball that bounced off the fence and the throw hits the runner on her way to second base. INT? Heck no.
Correct, unless the runner makes a move other than advancing toward the base

Quote:


A runner retreating to first base after a line drive is caught by F6 who then throws to F3 trying for a double play. Ball hits runner in the backside. INT? Heck no.
Again, correct unless the runner makes a move other than advancing toward the base

Tru_in_Blu Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023354)
Well, yes you can. That is why if a runner deviates from an established or obvious path and interferes with the throw, it is INT

I can agree with that. If/when there is a deviation, you might actually be able to ascertain "intent".

With no outs, B1 swings and misses at an uncaught third strike. F2 makes no attempt to tag the batter who begins walking to her dugout on the third base side of the field. F2 does not throw to F3 for an out at first base, and returns the ball to F1 who is in the circle.

As B1 passes the third base coach, he tells B1 to run to first, which she does - straight across the diamond making a straight line to first base.

F1 seeing the runner going to first base attempts to tag her, misses, and throws to F3. The runner is still heading straight to first base and the throw hits her on the helmet and bounds away.

Was the runner "not where she was supposed to be"? Are we ruling her out for being outside the running lane? :D

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023363)
Are we ruling her out for being outside the running lane? :D

Actually, yes we are if she's in the last half of the way to first. By rule, she is required to be in the runner's lane.

Manny A Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023349)
That does not matter. The rule does not differentiate between a runner or a retired runner except to determine which runner ends up being called out. The rule states "the runner is out...when the runner interferes...." There is not a separate rule for retired runners. Only the EFFECT is different because you can't call a retired runner out.

Well, I don't have the rule book in front of me since I'm on travel right now. But I'm pretty sure there is a separate rule that deals with retired runners. It says something like, "When after being put out or after scoring, a player interferes with the defense's opportunity to make a play on another runner." It is a little more open-ended to interpretation on what that retired runner does, regardless of intent.

jmkupka Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023365)
Actually, yes we are if she's in the last half of the way to first. By rule, she is required to be in the runner's lane.

From what I've learned here, a running lane violation is when a Batter-Runner interferes with a ball thrown from the area of home plate.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023367)
Well, I don't have the rule book in front of me since I'm on travel right now. But I'm pretty sure there is a separate rule that deals with retired runners. It says something like, "When after being put out or after scoring, a player interferes with the defense's opportunity to make a play on another runner." It is a little more open-ended to interpretation on what that retired runner does, regardless of intent.

Nope. It's part of the same rule. Simply says if the runner is already out, the runner nearest home at the time of the interference is called out.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1023369)
From what I've learned here, a running lane violation is when a Batter-Runner interferes with a ball thrown from the area of home plate.

Running lane violation is for anytime the runner is running outside the lane and interferes with a play at first.

jmkupka Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:40pm

Nah, F6 trying to turn a double play and hits BR out of the running lane ain't gettin a call from me...

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1023372)
Nah, F6 trying to turn a double play and hits BR out of the running lane ain't gettin a call from me...

Well, it should if F3 is stretching for the ball and gets handcuffed by BR inside the baseline. Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Just do a search for "interference running lane 3" and you'll see interference by a BR on a throw from 3B.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 26, 2018 08:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023375)
Well, it should if F3 is stretching for the ball and gets handcuffed by BR inside the baseline. Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Not if the umpire judges it did not interfere with the fielder taking the throw

CecilOne Thu Jul 26, 2018 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023375)
Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Not in the rule book. :rolleyes:

Manny A Thu Jul 26, 2018 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023370)
Nope. It's part of the same rule. Simply says if the runner is already out, the runner nearest home at the time of the interference is called out.

Now that I have the rule book in front of me:

Quote:

Rule 8, Section 7P: "When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner. A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference. This does not apply to a batter-runner who is entitled to run on the dropped third strike rule.

Effect: "1: The ball is dead. 2: The runner closest to home is out. 3: Runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference."
It's not part of the same rule. Rule 8, Section 7J covers interference by an active runner, 7P a retired runner.

EricH Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1023387)
It's not part of the same rule. Rule 8, Section 7J covers interference by an active runner, 7P a retired runner.

It is part of the same rule, 8.7, the runner is out. That's what I meant. But you're right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1