The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Runner fails to tag - dead ball is called....??? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103921-runner-fails-tag-dead-ball-called.html)

MechanicGuy Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:52am

Runner fails to tag - dead ball is called....???
 
Odd situation last night. Mens slowpitch.

Runners on FIRST and THIRD, 0 Outs.

Liner at the feet of the 3B, but caught. Home plate ump clearly calls him out. Both runners had taken off on contact. Defenders make the play on the runner going home.

Now the fun part...

The runner on first headed to second and stopped there, looking a little unsure of what was happening. Home plate ump calls time. At this point, the runner on second realizes he should've tagged up but didn't. He walks back to first base.

I, in the field, tell him he has to stay at second because time was called and the ball is dead. The fielders protest, and then realize what's going on, so they appeal at first and I call him out.

Was this handled correctly? Other umps at the field agreed that it was.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46pm

Defenders make the play on the runner going home.

I'll assume that this means the runner was tagged out, which would essentially be a live ball appeal. Either way, he was out for being tagged off a base.

I think the PU called time prematurely, since the ball should have remained live and the runner from first base was still at risk. Maybe he never would have made it back to first base unless he was sneaky fast or just sneaky.

But when time was called, the runner lost the ability to correct his baserunning mistake.

Was it handled perfectly? Probably not. Handled best as could be expected? Meh - sorta.

MechanicGuy Tue Jul 10, 2018 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1022925)
Defenders make the play on the runner going home.

I'll assume that this means the runner was tagged out, which would essentially be a live ball appeal. Either way, he was out for being tagged off a base.

I think the PU called time prematurely, since the ball should have remained live and the runner from first base was still at risk. Maybe he never would have made it back to first base unless he was sneaky fast or just sneaky.

But when time was called, the runner lost the ability to correct his baserunning mistake.

Was it handled perfectly? Probably not. Handled best as could be expected? Meh - sorta.

3B actually stepped on third and also threw home for a tag play,either not certain he caught it or of the PUs call.

As far as the result, that's what I felt as well.

Ideally, my partner would've waited a couple more seconds to see where the other runner was. But given that he didn't, and that the runner had yet to correct or begin to correct his mistake, I felt like we didn't have a choice. Had he even started heading back towards first before time was called, I probably would've allowed him to return, since the defense wasn't attempting to make any play on him.

...also, is there any sort of rule I can cite to explain this to the angry manager? I normally wouldn't bother, but he said he'd buy every ump a beer if I could prove we got it right lol

josephrt1 Tue Jul 10, 2018 06:40pm

I don't do slow pitch but this situation seems to apply to fast pitch as well. My question is why was time called at all. I think the ball should have been kept live in this situation. if runner does not go back to 1st on his/her own, the defense has the responsibility to recognize it and make an appeal. If they don't make an appeal before the next pitch, then play stands and runner stays on 2nd. If runner recognizes he has a problem and starts to head back to 1st, defense will probably realize whats going on and make a live ball appeal or try to tag the runner directly while off the base. But in the case described, calling time complicated the situation.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 11, 2018 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1022923)
Odd situation last night. Mens slowpitch.

Runners on FIRST and THIRD, 0 Outs.

Liner at the feet of the 3B, but caught. Home plate ump clearly calls him out. Both runners had taken off on contact. Defenders make the play on the runner going home.

Now the fun part...

The runner on first headed to second and stopped there, looking a little unsure of what was happening. Home plate ump calls time. At this point, the runner on second realizes he should've tagged up but didn't. He walks back to first base.

I, in the field, tell him he has to stay at second because time was called and the ball is dead. The fielders protest, and then realize what's going on, so they appeal at first and I call him out.

Was this handled correctly? Other umps at the field agreed that it was.

Once time was called, runners must be given the opportunity to complete any base running responsibilities prior to an appeal being accepted. RS 1 Dead ball appeal.

Runner should not have been called out

Tru_in_Blu Wed Jul 11, 2018 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1022941)
I don't do slow pitch but this situation seems to apply to fast pitch as well. My question is why was time called at all. I think the ball should have been kept live in this situation. if runner does not go back to 1st on his/her own, the defense has the responsibility to recognize it and make an appeal. If they don't make an appeal before the next pitch, then play stands and runner stays on 2nd. If runner recognizes he has a problem and starts to head back to 1st, defense will probably realize whats going on and make a live ball appeal or try to tag the runner directly while off the base. But in the case described, calling time complicated the situation.

From 2018 USA Softball Umpire Manual:

In the Slow Pitch game this is well defined, we call time whenever the ball is returned to the infield and all playing action has ceased.

In the Fast Pitch game this is not the case. In Fast Pitch, any umpire at the plate has the ability to call time when the umpires feel it is needed. This normally is when umpires have rotated and need to move to their next starting position. We should always call time when an umpire has chased a fly ball and needs to return back to their next starting position. Calling time can be accomplished without the ball in the circle, as long as all playing action has ceased. The purpose for calling time in a Fast Pitch game is to allow umpires to pre-pitch as they move to their next starting position. This does not mean you have to call TIME after every single play. When you are a student of the game and understand the game of Fast Pitch and are calling time at the appropriate intervals will actually speed up the game. This does not eliminate the ability for another umpire to call time if they ascertain the play dictates.

josephrt1 Wed Jul 11, 2018 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1022966)
From 2018 USA Softball Umpire Manual:

In the Slow Pitch game this is well defined, we call time whenever the ball is returned to the infield and all playing action has ceased.

In the Fast Pitch game this is not the case. In Fast Pitch, any umpire at the plate has the ability to call time when the umpires feel it is needed. This normally is when umpires have rotated and need to move to their next starting position. We should always call time when an umpire has chased a fly ball and needs to return back to their next starting position. Calling time can be accomplished without the ball in the circle, as long as all playing action has ceased. The purpose for calling time in a Fast Pitch game is to allow umpires to pre-pitch as they move to their next starting position. This does not mean you have to call TIME after every single play. When you are a student of the game and understand the game of Fast Pitch and are calling time at the appropriate intervals will actually speed up the game. This does not eliminate the ability for another umpire to call time if they ascertain the play dictates.

The wording is quoted from the 2018 manual as you stated. I underlined one important phrase. "as long as all playing action has ceased". In the play described, had all action ceased? No one was moving but we had an opportunity for an appeal play or for a runner to return to touch a base left too soon. I still say time should not have been called in this case where a potential play still existed. Umpires should have moved to their next position without tipping off either team and then get ready for the next pitch.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1022973)
In the play described, had all action ceased? No one was moving ...

Seems like you answered your own question.

Maybe a longer pause by the PU would have triggered additional action. I did think that time may have been called too soon.

I did err on the part about the runner being able to return to first base once time had been called. That was Irish's notation from the RS#1.

I got that confused a bit with a ball that had gone out of play.

The dead ball appeal may be made:
1. Once runners have completed their advancement and time has been called. Runners must be given ample opportunity, in the umpire's judgment, to complete their base running responsibilities. Any infielder...

MechanicGuy Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1022961)
Once time was called, runners must be given the opportunity to complete any base running responsibilities prior to an appeal being accepted. RS 1 Dead ball appeal.

Runner should not have been called out

He can return to first without risk of being tagged or forced out?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1022973)
The wording is quoted from the 2018 manual as you stated. I underlined one important phrase. "as long as all playing action has ceased". In the play described, had all action ceased? No one was moving but we had an opportunity for an appeal play or for a runner to return to touch a base left too soon. I still say time should not have been called in this case where a potential play still existed. Umpires should have moved to their next position without tipping off either team and then get ready for the next pitch.

It really doesn't matter, time was called and the runner must be given the opportunity to complete any running responsibilities prior to accepting the appeal.

You can "what if" this until all college pitchers throw legally, it isn't going to change anything.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1022981)
He can return to first without risk of being tagged or forced out?

The ball is dead, right? Can you tag a runner for an out during a dead ball period other than unnecessarily during a dead ball appeal?

MechanicGuy Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1022984)
The ball is dead, right? Can you tag a runner for an out during a dead ball period other than unnecessarily during a dead ball appeal?

I ask because I'm seeing this rule....

EFFECT Sec. 9. A. (NOTE: the below are APPEAL PLAYS.)
1. Base runners are in jeopardy until they return to their bases, in order to
comply with the several sections of these rules, when the ball is live.
2. No base runner may return to a preceding base after the ball has been declared dead if the base runner touches any succeeding base, or after a following runner has scored.

Does this not apply? Am I misreading it? Which rule are you referring to that allows them to return to first after time is called I can't find it, and am not sure where to look exactly

CecilOne Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1022982)
You can "what if" this until all college pitchers throw legally, it isn't going to change anything.

A rare :D, no only :)

jmkupka Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:27pm

Irish, this is what I've always been unsure of...

1. Runner leaves early, arrives at next base.
2. Defense asks for time, umpire grants it.
3. Runner realizes defense is going to dead-ball appeal, heads back to 1B.
We deny the appeal?

The ball is dead because we granted time. We would never grant time unless, in our judgement, all runners have finished doing what they're gonna do (my paraphrase).

chapmaja Wed Jul 11, 2018 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1022923)
Odd situation last night. Mens slowpitch.

Runners on FIRST and THIRD, 0 Outs.

Liner at the feet of the 3B, but caught. Home plate ump clearly calls him out. Both runners had taken off on contact. Defenders make the play on the runner going home.

Now the fun part...

The runner on first headed to second and stopped there, looking a little unsure of what was happening. Home plate ump calls time. At this point, the runner on second realizes he should've tagged up but didn't. He walks back to first base.

I, in the field, tell him he has to stay at second because time was called and the ball is dead. The fielders protest, and then realize what's going on, so they appeal at first and I call him out.

Was this handled correctly? Other umps at the field agreed that it was.

I think you (BU) were correct in your handling of this because the runner had arrived and was standing at the succeeding base when time was called. I think the PU was premature to call time when he did because it denied the offensive player the ability to return to first base legally.

The issue here is when do we call time on a play like this? How long do we wait for one of the teams to realize WTH is going on and do something. Given the OP indicates the runner at second was "wondering what was going on?" This is a clue something is going on in his mind and we need to give him that few seconds to make a decision (and the defense to react).

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 11, 2018 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1022987)
I ask because I'm seeing this rule....

EFFECT Sec. 9. A. (NOTE: the below are APPEAL PLAYS.)
1. Base runners are in jeopardy until they return to their bases, in order to
comply with the several sections of these rules, when the ball is live.
2. No base runner may return to a preceding base after the ball has been declared dead if the base runner touches any succeeding base, or after a following runner has scored.

Does this not apply? Am I misreading it? Which rule are you referring to that allows them to return to first after time is called I can't find it, and am not sure where to look exactly

What rule would that be?

Tru_in_Blu Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02am

How about USA 8.7.F
Effect 3
(Dead ball appeal) Once the ball has been returned to the infield and time is called, any coach or infielder, with or without possession of the the ball , may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base or leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball. No runner may leave a base during this period as the ball remains dead until the next pitch.

So RS#1.C.3 states:
The dead ball appeal may be made:
Once all runners have completed their advancement and time has been called. Runners must be give ample opportunity, in the umpire's judgment, to complete their base running responsibilities.


In this case, the runner completing their responsibilities would involve not "advancement", but retreating to the previous base in order to legally tag up.

I think the "giving of ample opportunity" may refer to the period of time BEFORE the umpire calls time.

So even if the PU had perhaps called time a bit prematurely, it would seem that once time had been called, that the runner would not be able to return to first base during the dead ball period.

MechanicGuy Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023082)
How about USA 8.7.F
Effect 3
(Dead ball appeal) Once the ball has been returned to the infield and time is called, any coach or infielder, with or without possession of the the ball , may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base or leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball. No runner may leave a base during this period as the ball remains dead until the next pitch.

So RS#1.C.3 states:
The dead ball appeal may be made:
Once all runners have completed their advancement and time has been called. Runners must be give ample opportunity, in the umpire's judgment, to complete their base running responsibilities.


In this case, the runner completing their responsibilities would involve not "advancement", but retreating to the previous base in order to legally tag up.

I think the "giving of ample opportunity" may refer to the period of time BEFORE the umpire calls time.

So even if the PU had perhaps called time a bit prematurely, it would seem that once time had been called, that the runner would not be able to return to first base during the dead ball period.

That, to me, seems to make logical sense. I can't believe the rule is meant to allow a runner to correct a mistake while not at risk of being put out.

As I said, if the runner had already began returning to first, I likely would've allowed him to do so because of time being granted prematurely. But, this was not the case.

Though one could certainly read a conflict between the 2 rules.

Andy Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023082)
How about USA 8.7.F
Effect 3
(Dead ball appeal) Once the ball has been returned to the infield and time is called, any coach or infielder, with or without possession of the the ball , may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base or leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball. No runner may leave a base during this period as the ball remains dead until the next pitch.

So RS#1.C.3 states:
The dead ball appeal may be made:
Once all runners have completed their advancement and time has been called. Runners must be give ample opportunity, in the umpire's judgment, to complete their base running responsibilities.


In this case, the runner completing their responsibilities would involve not "advancement", but retreating to the previous base in order to legally tag up.

I think the "giving of ample opportunity" may refer to the period of time BEFORE the umpire calls time.

So even if the PU had perhaps called time a bit prematurely, it would seem that once time had been called, that the runner would not be able to return to first base during the dead ball period.


This rule and rule supplement also applies when a ball is thrown into dead ball territory and is out of play. If that happens, the umpire should make the dead ball call immediately. At that point, is where the "ample opportunity to complete base running responsibilities" kicks in. It seems the same would apply to the OP. Wait until all playing action is ceased, call time, give the runner "ample opportunity", rule on the dead ball appeal if necessary.

From the description in the OP, it seems as if TIME may have been called a bit prematurely since the runner had not tagged up on the caught fly ball. however, once time was called, he does need to be allowed the opportunity to return and tag up before a dead ball appeal can be ruled on.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 1023084)
This rule and rule supplement also applies when a ball is thrown into dead ball territory and is out of play. If that happens, the umpire should make the dead ball call immediately. At that point, is where the "ample opportunity to complete base running responsibilities" kicks in. It seems the same would apply to the OP. Wait until all playing action is ceased, call time, give the runner "ample opportunity", rule on the dead ball appeal if necessary.

From the description in the OP, it seems as if TIME may have been called a bit prematurely since the runner had not tagged up on the caught fly ball. however, once time was called, he does need to be allowed the opportunity to return and tag up before a dead ball appeal can be ruled on.

There is actually a separate notation in the RS for balls that go out of play:
2. When a ball goes out of play, runners must be give the opportunity to complete their base running responsibilities before the dead ball appeal can be made.

Since the ball going out of play results in an immediate dead ball situation, it makes sense that runners need to be given the chance to correct base running errors.

If it's simply a situation where the ball remains in live ball territory, I don't think that second point is valid. It becomes more the umpire's decision as to when to call time.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:35am

Quote:


So RS#1.C.3 states:
The dead ball appeal may be made:
Once all runners have completed their advancement and time has been called. Runners must be give ample opportunity, in the umpire's judgment, to complete their base running responsibilities.

And I interpret the second sentence to cover this as is notes base running responsibilities, not just advancing. Then again, I'm referring to immediate action by the runner, not a delay. IMO, that is why it notes in the umpire's judgement. After all, what is there to judge on a runner moving to the next base after time has been called?

MechanicGuy Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023088)
And I interpret the second sentence to cover this as is notes base running responsibilities, not just advancing. Then again, I'm referring to immediate action by the runner, not a delay. IMO, that is why it notes in the umpire's judgement. After all, what is there to judge on a runner moving to the next base after time has been called?

Immediate seems to be the pertinent word. And "complete", for that matter.

You can't really COMPLETE something you haven't actually started, can you?

Tru_in_Blu Sat Jul 14, 2018 10:29am

OK, let's change the scenario a bit but keep the spirit of the discussion.

JO game, 2 umpire system.

R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, no outs.

B3 hits a ball to shallow RF where F3, F4, and F9 are all converging on the ball.

R1 is tagging up at 2B, R2 is going half-way.

F4 makes an exceptional over-the-shoulder catch of the batted ball running away from the infield. R1 tags up and heads to 3B. F4 turns and throws to 3B and the ball hits R1 in the back. R2, seeing the ball go to 3B proceeds to 2B, but never tagged up.

The throw injures R1 enough for her to ask for time which is granted by the PU.

For the "ample time" proponents, will you allow R2 to return to 1B during this dead ball period? If so, under what rule?

If not, is there anything R2 can do once the PU puts the ball back into play? If she steps off the base (even going back to 1B), she will be guilty of a LB violation. Or is the offense just praying for that one pitch to occur?

jmkupka Sat Jul 14, 2018 02:41pm

I feel the entire "ample time" aspect of the rule is based on the premise that the runner (or her coach) knows full well she screwed up, and knows she needs to try to get back at the absolute first chance she gets.

With that said, TruInBlu, I think her "ample time" would be when she sees the ball headed to 3B (and while she's halfway between 1B & 2B), and not a free pass (when standing on 2B) back to 1B when the ball's declared dead.

If y'all think Im talking out of my hat, please let me know....

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 15, 2018 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1023102)
I feel the entire "ample time" aspect of the rule is based on the premise that the runner (or her coach) knows full well she screwed up, and knows she needs to try to get back at the absolute first chance she gets.

With that said, TruInBlu, I think her "ample time" would be when she sees the ball headed to 3B (and while she's halfway between 1B & 2B), and not a free pass (when standing on 2B) back to 1B when the ball's declared dead.

If y'all think Im talking out of my hat, please let me know....

I'm not talking about delaying an appeal by waiting for action from the runner in question. As previously noted, in the OP, and the subsequent play noted by TIB, it seems the umpires are too quick to kill the ball. When the ball is live and there is more than a single runner, an umpire should have the whereabouts to scan the base paths for any continuing action or reactions prior to killing the play. I have always been instructed to feel comfortable that all runners have completed their running tasks prior to killing

jmkupka Sun Jul 15, 2018 08:46pm

exactly... if we don't rush the timeout, the whole thing will likely resolve itself as a live-ball appeal anyway.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 17, 2018 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1022928)

...also, is there any sort of rule I can cite to explain this to the angry manager? I normally wouldn't bother, but he said he'd buy every ump a beer if I could prove we got it right lol

So after several responses, do you feel like any sort of rule has been identified that could help your umpires get a beer? :)

MechanicGuy Wed Jul 18, 2018 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023137)
So after several responses, do you feel like any sort of rule has been identified that could help your umpires get a beer? :)

Not that would convince this guy. I left out his accusations of "bush league" hurled at my partner and I :rolleyes:

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 02:24pm

Just FYI, from July 2010 rules clarifications:

Quote:

Rule 8 Section 5F
Runners are entitled to advance with liability to be put out:
Play: With no outs, R1 on 1B and B2 hits a long fly ball to F8. R1 rounds 2B, sees the ball caught by F8 and begins to return to 1B. The ball is released while R1 is between 2B and 3B. The ball goes out of play while the R1 is between 1B and 2B. What is he correct award for the umpire to apply?

Ruling: Once the ball enters dead ball territory the umpire should first allow the runner to complete their base running responsibilities. The umpire should hesitate to see if the runner is going to retouch 1B. Then the umpire should call dead ball and award two bases from the time of the release of the ball, not the time the ball goes out of play. This means that even though the runner was going back to tag up, the release of the ball happened when the runner was between 2B and 3B. Therefore, the runner would be awarded two (2) bases from the time of the throw. Rule 8 Section 5G
"(T)he umpire should first allow the runner to complete (his) base running responsibilities" before calling dead ball.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 02:34pm

Also this:

Quote:

Rule 8 Section 5F
Runners are entitled to advance with liability to be put out:
Play: With no outs, R1 on 1B and B2 hits a long fly ball to F8. R1 rounds 2B, sees F8 catch the ball and begins to return to 1B. The ball is released while the R1 is between 1B and 2B, and goes into dead ball territory. The umpire allows the R1 to complete their base running responsibilities and then awards the R1 3B. R1hears “2 base award” and does not tag up. Instead R1 immediately proceeds to 2B and then 3B. After touching 2B the runner realizes that they forgot to tag up at 1B. They return and retouch 1B and proceed again to 2B and then 3B. As R1 reaches 3B, the defense appeals that R1 did not legally retouch 1B as they had touched the awarded 2B prior to retouching 1B.

Ruling: R1 would be ruled out for retouching 1B after touching the next awarded base. Our rule states that once a base runner advances to the next awarded base, the runner can no longer return to touch any base missed or any base left too soon. So as soon as the award was declared and the runner touched 2B they could not legally return to touch 1B. Rule 8 Section 5G EFFECT
And from June 2016:

Quote:

PLAY: Top of the 6th inning and the home team is up by 1 run. With one out and R1 on 1B, B3 hits a line drive to left field. R1 leaves thinking the ball will not be caught. F7 makes a shoestring catch and throws hard back to first to pick off R1 who is now trying to get back to 1B. As R1 returns toward 1B, the ball is over-thrown and enters the dugout when R1 is just a couple feet short of re-touching 1st base. The plate umpire delays to give R1 time to complete their base running responsibilities then calls dead-ball and announces “Two bases”. R1 turns around and touches 2B and then onto 3B without re-touching 1B. Prior to the next pitch, the defensive coach requests time to appeal the runner not having properly tagged up on the initial catch by F7.



Ruling: The appeal would be allowed and the runner called out for not tagging up on a caught fly ball. Rule 8, Section 3H. Even though the ball went out of play the runner is still required to tag up on a caught fly ball in order to advance without liability to be called out and the umpire gave the player enough time to retag prior to the dead ball call. Rule 8, Section 5G.
I think the umpire should have protected the runner because of his error in calling time immediately.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 24, 2018 02:44pm

These last 2 entries pertain to thrown balls that ended up in DBT. They aren't exactly what this thread was discussing.

They are related and there are differences in how an umpire should decide when to call time out.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023327)
These last 2 entries pertain to thrown balls that ended up in DBT. They aren't exactly what this thread was discussing.

They are related and there are differences in how an umpire should decide when to call time out.

They most certainly ARE related. They have to do with an umpire calling time before runners have completed their running responsibilities. Most umpires believe they should call time AS SOON AS the ball goes out of play, whereas they have more leeway in other situations. These plays show definitively that the umpire should give runners time even when the ball has gone out of play. If umpires should give runners time even when the ball has gone out of play, they should most definitely give runners time when it has not.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 24, 2018 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023328)
They most certainly ARE related.

Yeah, that's what I said.

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 03:14pm

Another clarification from May 2013:

Quote:

Play: With one out and R1 on 1B, B3 hits a long fly ball to F7 which is caught. R1 leaves 1B before the ball is touched by F7 and has rounded 2B on their way to 3B when F7 throws the ball into dead ball territory. R1 is standing on 3B when the ball entered dead ball territory. Does the runner have the right to return to 1B since they have already touched an awarded base?

Ruling: Base runners should always be given the opportunity to return and touch a base missed or left too soon when the ball becomes dead. The issue of “Once a base runner advances to the next awarded base, the runner may no longer return to touch any base missed or any base left too soon,” only applies after the runner is awarded that base. In this play, R1 has made it to 3B during the play and the award has not been given yet. R1 has not reached the base they would be awarded. Once the ball is declared “dead” and the umpire gives the award of two bases, the R1 has to go back to the base they left too soon or if R1 continues to HP from 3B, R1 would not be able to return. The award must be given and the runner must then touch the bases they are awarded.
NOTE: "Once the ball is declared 'dead'... the (runner) has to go back to the base they left too soon."

The runner can return after the ball has been declared dead. That should clarify.

Sorry. No beer for you.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jul 24, 2018 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023332)
NOTE: "Once the ball is declared 'dead'... the (runner) has to go back to the base they left too soon."

The runner can return after the ball has been declared dead. That should clarify.

ONLY if the ball has gone out of play.

That was not the crux of this string. It was an umpire probably calling time too soon. Although in slow pitch, once all action has ceased, the umpire is supposed to call "time".

EricH Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1023339)
ONLY if the ball has gone out of play.

No. The text says "once the ball has been declared dead," not "once the ball goes out of play". It is addressing the umpire's action, not the status of the ball.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 25, 2018 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023325)
Just FYI, from July 2010 rules clarifications:



"(T)he umpire should first allow the runner to complete (his) base running responsibilities" before calling dead ball.

This is not worded properly. By definition, the ball is dead the moment it leaves play, not when the umpire makes such a declaration.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023353)
This is not worded properly. By definition, the ball is dead the moment it leaves play, not when the umpire makes such a declaration.

From one of my earlier posts:

Quote:

Ruling: Once the ball enters dead ball territory the umpire should first allow the runner to complete their base running responsibilities. The umpire should hesitate to see if the runner is going to retouch 1B. Then the umpire should call dead ball....
As I said, the issue is when the umpire declares the ball dead, not when the ball goes out of play.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 25, 2018 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023355)
From one of my earlier posts:



As I said, the issue is when the umpire declares the ball dead, not when the ball goes out of play.

Point is the umpire does not determine when the ball becomes dead, the rule does. Waiting for an umpire to open his mouth does not delay the status of the ball. As previously noted, it is poorly worded

Quote:

Ruling: Base runners should always be given the opportunity to return and touch a base missed or left too soon when the ball becomes dead

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023356)
Waiting for an umpire to open his mouth does not delay the status of the ball.

Again, the purpose is for the umpire to delay his declaration so that the runners can complete their base running responsibilities. When the ball became dead does not matter.

And in the situation presented by OP the ball never went out of play. When the umpire opened his mouth was all that mattered.

CecilOne Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023357)
Again, the purpose is for the umpire to delay his declaration so that the runners can complete their base running responsibilities. When the ball became dead does not matter.

The runners can complete their responsibilities, like a base untouched or not tagged, as soon as the ball is dead; or for that matter while it is still live.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1023361)
The runners can complete their responsibilities, like a base untouched or not tagged, as soon as the ball is dead; or for that matter while it is still live.

Why are you fighting this? :confused: The rules clarification was written to help umpires understand when to declare the ball dead and make subsequent calls so that we do not get into situations like the OP's.

CecilOne Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023364)
Why are you fighting this? :confused: The rules clarification was written to help umpires understand when to declare the ball dead and make subsequent calls so that we do not get into situations like the OP's.

Not fighting, my first post on this except teasing Irish.

Just expanding/clarifying. As you said "umpire to delay his declaration so that the runners can "; which means completing running while the ball is dead and waiting for the umpire to announce.

EricH Wed Jul 25, 2018 03:42pm

:rolleyes::D

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 26, 2018 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023364)
Why are you fighting this? :confused: The rules clarification was written to help umpires understand when to declare the ball dead and make subsequent calls so that we do not get into situations like the OP's.

Probably because he knows better :)

I'll stand on, and have since 1989, 8.5.G.Exception.2 all day long.

EricH Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023382)
Probably because he knows better :)

I'll stand on, and have since 1989, 8.5.G.Exception.2 all day long.

And that exception says exactly what I have been saying, except for the "declaration."

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 26, 2018 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EricH (Post 1023389)
And that exception says exactly what I have been saying, except for the "declaration."

So it is not exactly what you have been saying. It is, however, what I and others have been saying :)

EricH Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1023397)
So it is not exactly what you have been saying. It is, however, what I and others have been saying :)

Yeah, i'm only saying what the rules clarifications say. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1