The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NCAA Softball 2 Out indicator (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103489-ncaa-softball-2-out-indicator.html)

Rlspls1974 Wed Feb 07, 2018 07:56pm

NCAA Softball 2 Out indicator

I'm new to NCAA Softball so be gentle. :)
What is the purpose of using the two out indicator communication between umpires?
Pg. 62 of the CCA manual has a picture. States the signal is used with two outs and no runners on second or first.

teebob21 Wed Feb 07, 2018 09:07pm

The idea behind the new 2-out indicator is to communicate between umpires that we have two outs, and a time play is not likely, e.g. no runners or R3 only. Frankly, I don't know why this was needed as the time-play signal (tap wrist with two fingers) serves both purposes AND reminds us to be alert for time plays.

Rlspls1974 Wed Feb 07, 2018 09:14pm

Thanks TeeBob21, makes sense and I agree, why is it needed.
Appreciate the feedback!

Tru_in_Blu Wed Feb 07, 2018 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1016537)
The idea behind the new 2-out indicator is to communicate between umpires that we have two outs, and a time play is not likely, e.g. no runners or R3 only. Frankly, I don't know why this was needed as the time-play signal (tap wrist with two fingers) serves both purposes AND reminds us to be alert for time plays.

I don't do NCAA, but is a runner on third only indicated by "R3"?

teebob21 Thu Feb 08, 2018 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1016544)

No, not officially. Edit: yes. I prefer that shorthand for all case plays, even though it is not standard usage across all codes. Thanks to Crabby Bob for reminding me to go look in the manual.

Crabby_Bob Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1016544)

Yes, for example, see the CCA manual page 66.

Manny A Fri Feb 09, 2018 07:34am