The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NCAA Softball Rule Changes for 2018 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/102872-ncaa-softball-rule-changes-2018-a.html)

umpjim Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 1008799)
The effect of the rule is: The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch.

Baseball has the same rule. But when an intervening play at HP happens they allow a safe at HP to stand even though an RLI happens afterwood. How does all of the SB codes address this? And how will the NCAA SB umpires address a BR straddling the lane while running to 1B?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Aug 19, 2017 06:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 1008800)
Baseball has the same rule. But when an intervening play at HP happens they allow a safe at HP to stand even though an RLI happens afterwood. How does all of the SB codes address this? And how will the NCAA SB umpires address a BR straddling the lane while running to 1B?

Forget "intervening play". Take it out of your softball vocabulary, doesn't exist.

If the 3rd out of the inning is the result of a runner being put out on a force or the BR failing to reach 1st safely, no run may score on that play.

jmkupka Mon Aug 21, 2017 03:20pm

F2 watches B/R round the bases after an over-the-fence HR, sees her miss the plate, and immediately appeals to the PU.
PU has to wait to see if BR is going realize her mistake (2, 3 steps later) before ruling?

The wording of the rationale actually seems to deny the defense the opportunity to appeal, instead of allowing it.
Couldn't a knowledgable OC use the rule ("sufficient time to advance or return") to have the appeal dissallowed?

CecilOne Mon Aug 21, 2017 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scooby (Post 1008779)
The new rule changes can be found at:




http://sup.arbitersports.com/Groups/...s_20170817.pdf

I'm glad I don't have to attend that clinic! :eek:

AtlUmpSteve Mon Aug 21, 2017 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1008817)
F2 watches B/R round the bases after an over-the-fence HR, sees her miss the plate, and immediately appeals to the PU.
PU has to wait to see if BR is going realize her mistake (2, 3 steps later) before ruling?

The wording of the rationale actually seems to deny the defense the opportunity to appeal, instead of allowing it.
Couldn't a knowledgable OC use the rule ("sufficient time to advance or return") to have the appeal dissallowed?

The rule in every major ruleset of softball would be refuse to accept that appeal until the runners are given an opportunity to complete all running responsibility. In other words, since she can legally return and touch until she leaves live ball territory, no appeal should be considered until then.

This spells it out further, not really a rule change, after this play was handled incorrectly on a nationally broadcast game.

josephrt1 Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
[...
Also does softball have the "intervening play" interp? R3 is allowed to score if a play is made on her at HP and then there is a running lane violation on the following play at 1B.

Crabby_Bob;1008799]The effect of the rule is: The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch.

Just to expand on what crabby_Bob says, if the runner had crossed the plate (this is now the last base touched) before the batter-runner interfered, with less than 2 outs, the run would score. if R3 had not yet reached home at the time of interference, R3 would be sent back to the last base touched which is 3rd base.

In your example i believe you said a play was made on her at home but you didn't say if she was out or safe. if she had already been called out, R3 remains out. If R3 was already safe, she remains safe. I'm not sure i understand what your "intervening play" has to do with this scenario (but i don't ump baseball).

umpjim Tue Aug 22, 2017 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1008822)
Just to expand on what crabby_Bob says, if the runner had crossed the plate (this is now the last base touched) before the batter-runner interfered, with less than 2 outs, the run would score. if R3 had not yet reached home at the time of interference, R3 would be sent back to the last base touched which is 3rd base.

In your example i believe you said a play was made on her at home but you didn't say if she was out or safe. if she had already been called out, R3 remains out. If R3 was already safe, she remains safe. I'm not sure i understand what your "intervening play" has to do with this scenario (but i don't ump baseball).

Crabby_bob and NCAA say runners return TOP:
"EFFECT—The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the base runner closest to home plate shall also be called out."
So without an "intervening play" interp, with less than 2 out, a safe R3 would be returned to 3B if the BR was called out for RLI after the play at HP.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 22, 2017 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 1008824)
Crappy Bob and NCAA say runners return TOP:
"EFFECT—The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the base runner closest to home plate shall also be called out."
So without an "intervening play" interp, with less than 2 out, a safe R3 would be returned to 3B if the BR was called out for RLI after the play at HP.

Not in softball

umpjim Tue Aug 22, 2017 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1008826)
Not in softball

So who is correct in NCAA softball, joseprht1 or Crabby_bob? A played on R3 who is safe at HP is or isn't returned to 3B if the BR is called out for RLI after R3 scores with less than 2 out?

jmkupka Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:16am

With less than 2 outs, if the runner crosses the plate before the interference, her run counts and she is not returned to 3B.
She goes to the last base touched at the time of the INT. Home.

umpjim Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1008832)
With less than 2 outs, if the runner crosses the plate before the interference, her run counts and she is not returned to 3B.
She goes to the last base touched at the time of the INT. Home.

That's not what's in the NCAA proposed rule. And what about a straddling runner hit when a foot is in the air but has been touching outside the lane.

Crabby_Bob Tue Aug 22, 2017 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1008832)
With less than 2 outs, if the runner crosses the plate before the interference, her run counts and she is not returned to 3B.
She goes to the last base touched at the time of the INT. Home.

That's not what "each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch" means.

This is not new. I will not quote entire sections, but the effect of batter-runner interfering with the fielder receiving the throw is the same, see 2016-17:12.19.1.3.2 and 2014-15:12.19.1.4.2.
Effect: The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied
at the time of the pitch. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the base runner closest to home
plate shall also be called out.
Getting back to the overall topic, I mostly agree with IRISH and AtlUmpSteve.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1