The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Appeal play question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/102794-appeal-play-question.html)

Dave9819 Fri Jul 07, 2017 08:05am

Appeal play question
 
Ruleset: USA Softball (ASA)

Situation:

2 outs, runner on 1st and 3rd. Batter hits ball to outfield and reaches first base safely, runner for 3rd scores. Runner from 1st goes to 3rd but does not touch 2nd base.

After the play is over, defense properly appears runner missing 2nd base. Runner is called out.

My question is, since the runner was forced to 2nd base due to batter becoming batter runner, does the runner missing 2nd base and being called out on appeal fall under the situation that a run cannot score if the 3rd out of an inning is due to a force out?

Thanks!

Manny A Fri Jul 07, 2017 08:33am

Correct. Run does not score.

jamesshank Sat Jul 08, 2017 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1007569)
Correct. Run does not score.

I'm not sure that is correct, because once the runner missed second, she could still go back and touch it before the appeal and is no longer forced to second once it becomes an appeal play. Someone more knowledgeable than me will hopefully come in.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

youngump Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jamesshank (Post 1007615)
I'm not sure that is correct, because once the runner missed second, she could still go back and touch it before the appeal and is no longer forced to second once it becomes an appeal play. Someone more knowledgeable than me will hopefully come in.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

That would be Manny and he came in before you. :-)

That said, to help correct your confusion here's a quick primer:

there are two kinds of outs for purpose of determining if runs score
Force Plays and Timing Plays
Either kind of out may be recorded during regular play or on appeal.

Appeals of force plays are still force plays. The force play must be a force at the time of the appeal. No run scores when the third out is the result of a force out.

Runs that score before appeals of timing plays count unless the runner called out was ahead of a scoring runner.

Examples:
Bases loaded, 1 outs. Ball hit to the outfield and the runner from second is thrown out at the plate. The runner from first missed second and is called out on appeal. No runs score.

Bases loaded, 1 outs. Ball hit to the outfield and the runner from second misses third. The runner from first missed second and is called out on appeal. Then the runner from from second is called out on appeal. 1 run scores. (He wasn't forced to third at the time of the appeal).

Bases loaded, 2 outs. Ball hit to the fence for an in the park home run. The runner from first misses third and is called out on appeal. 2 runs score. (BR can't score behind the 3rd out).

jamesshank Sat Jul 08, 2017 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 1007618)
That would be Manny and he came in before you. :-)

That said, to help correct your confusion here's a quick primer:

there are two kinds of outs for purpose of determining if runs score
Force Plays and Timing Plays
Either kind of out may be recorded during regular play or on appeal.

Appeals of force plays are still force plays. The force play must be a force at the time of the appeal. No run scores when the third out is the result of a force out.

Runs that score before appeals of timing plays count unless the runner called out was ahead of a scoring runner.

Examples:
Bases loaded, 1 outs. Ball hit to the outfield and the runner from second is thrown out at the plate. The runner from first missed second and is called out on appeal. No runs score.

Bases loaded, 1 outs. Ball hit to the outfield and the runner from second misses third. The runner from first missed second and is called out on appeal. Then the runner from from second is called out on appeal. 1 run scores. (He wasn't forced to third at the time of the appeal).

Bases loaded, 2 outs. Ball hit to the fence for an in the park home run. The runner from first misses third and is called out on appeal. 2 runs score. (BR can't score behind the 3rd out).

Thank you for the clarification and thanks Manny for not embarrassing me for my ignorance[emoji12]

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 09, 2017 08:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jamesshank (Post 1007615)
i'm not sure that is correct, because once the runner missed second, she could still go back and touch it before the appeal and is no longer forced to second once it becomes an appeal play. Someone more knowledgeable than me will hopefully come in.

Sent from my sm-n920v using tapatalk

5.5.b.1

CecilOne Mon Jul 10, 2017 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jamesshank (Post 1007615)
I'm not sure that is correct, because once the runner missed second, she could still go back and touch it before the appeal and is no longer forced to second once it becomes an appeal play. Someone more knowledgeable than me will hopefully come in.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Why can't the runner who missed second go back and touch before the appeal
- while ball is still live
- after ball is dead, having reached 3rd

CecilOne Mon Jul 10, 2017 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 1007618)
The force play must be a force at the time of the appeal.

Why is that a rule?

Isn't it just USA SB?

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1007666)
Why is that a rule?

Isn't it just USA SB?

Here's the play that would be affected without that statement.

With 1 out, R2 on 3rd, R3 on 1st. Batter singles to right; R2 scores, while R3 misses 2nd on the way to 3rd. F9 throws to 3rd; ball is cut off and BR/R4 is thrown out at 2nd for the 2nd out. Defense requests time, and appeals that R3 missed 2nd base; 3rd out. Does the run score?

If the rule is a force at the time of the miss, this WAS a force out; no run scores. If the rule is a force at the time of the appeal, the run scores, as the trailing runner was put out prior to the appeal.

IMO, at the time of the miss is the more appropriate rule. But someone with influence convinced at National Council to erase the force when this happens.

CecilOne Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 1007673)
IMO, at the time of the miss is the more appropriate rule. But someone with influence convinced at National Council to erase the force when this happens.

That is why I asked. And I guess why only USA SB.

Dakota Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 1007673)
Here's the play that would be affected without that statement.

With 1 out, R2 on 3rd, R3 on 1st. Batter singles to right; R2 scores, while R3 misses 2nd on the way to 3rd. F9 throws to 3rd; ball is cut off and BR/R4 is thrown out at 2nd for the 2nd out. Defense requests time, and appeals that R3 missed 2nd base; 3rd out. Does the run score?

If the rule is a force at the time of the miss, this WAS a force out; no run scores. If the rule is a force at the time of the appeal, the run scores, as the trailing runner was put out prior to the appeal.

IMO, at the time of the miss is the more appropriate rule. But someone with influence convinced at National Council to erase the force when this happens.

But, but, but, ... how can you EVER have R2 on 3rd??? :eek: :D

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 1007673)
Here's the play that would be affected without that statement.

With 1 out, R2 on 3rd, R3 on 1st. Batter singles to right; R2 scores, while R3 misses 2nd on the way to 3rd. F9 throws to 3rd; ball is cut off and BR/R4 is thrown out at 2nd for the 2nd out. Defense requests time, and appeals that R3 missed 2nd base; 3rd out. Does the run score?

If the rule is a force at the time of the miss, this WAS a force out; no run scores. If the rule is a force at the time of the appeal, the run scores, as the trailing runner was put out prior to the appeal.

IMO, at the time of the miss is the more appropriate rule. But someone with influence convinced at National Council to erase the force when this happens.

IMO, USA has it right since if there was some reason to retreat, the base from which the runner was forced is now available for safe occupation. Their interpretation is consistent with the other rules of the game governing runners.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1