![]() |
Interference by R1 on foul fly?
FED rules. Three man game. R1 standing on third base when pop foul happens. 3B runs in front of R1 which is not the direct path. Ball drops foul. U3 no call but PU calls R1 out for interference. Says it doesn't matter that runner was in contact with base. Runner was stock still. Opinions? Even better would be rule based comments :)
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
That was PUs contention. I'm trying to provide some rule support for this ruling which I figured PU kicked. Seems like one of those "legal because it doesn't say it isn't " type of situations. I wasn't at the game but got asked a question. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Rule 8-8-13 tells us that a runner is not out if she is in contact with a base unless her interference with the fielder is intentional. The runner doesn't need to vacate the base or move out of the way, and just standing in one spot without moving is not "intentionally interfering".
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37am. |