![]() |
|
|
|||
Sounds like they they screwed up:
" If interference is called during an Infield Fly, the ball remains alive until it is determined whether the ball is fair or foul. If fair, both the runner who interfered with the fielder and the bat- ter are out. If foul, even if caught, the runner is out and the bat- ter returns to bat." |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
So the question is whether the OP was an infield fly. |
|
|||
Also in regard to the right arm point, U1 was pointing to the INT. U2 definitely was pointing the infield fly and the crew kicked it unless they reversed the infield fly. But Wendelstedt did not like the current ruling in their manual a few years ago and would have preferred to call it like ASA. But MLB codified the current rule. But the result should have been 2 out no matter which mechanic you use unless they wiped off the infield fly. Luckily no protest.
Last edited by umpjim; Sun Sep 11, 2016 at 10:08am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Just Softball | DTQ_Blue | Softball | 8 | Fri May 02, 2008 10:36am |
IOC & Softball | MA Softball Ump | Softball | 17 | Sun Mar 05, 2006 11:17am |
softball | Craig Mozian | Softball | 1 | Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:18am |
The end of softball as we know it... | Dakota | Softball | 11 | Fri May 21, 2004 09:55pm |
softball | Dougie | Feedback | 1 | Thu Apr 11, 2002 04:08pm |