The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   MLB call vs softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101624-mlb-call-vs-softball.html)

Tru_in_Blu Sat Sep 10, 2016 08:41pm

MLB call vs softball
 
I was watching the Red Sox @ Blue Jays yesterday.

There was 1 out and runners on second and first.

Batter hit what appeared to be an IF.

The runner from first initially took a couple of steps towards second base and started back to first base.

The first baseman was coming in to make the catch and bumped into the runner. Despite the collision, he was still able to make the catch.

At the top of the screen, I could see U1 extending his right arm horizontally. I hoped to see that again, but the replay didn't have him in the picture.

The ruling was that the runner from first base was out due to interference and they placed the batter on first base.

So I'm wondering if the scenario plays out differently if it's a softball game.

First of all, I'm not sure about the signal that the first base umpire was giving. But, I've worked with plenty of umpires who call a delayed dead ball with their right arm.

Secondly, why (if that's what he was calling) would it not have been an interference call with a dead ball right away? I've heard baseball doesn't have a "dead ball" call, so maybe that was part of it.

Lastly, if this had been an ASA softball game, would we have an immediate dead ball, R2 out due to interference, and possibly batter out as well due to IF?

But 8.7.J.1 (does this negate the IF? Remember those many discussions as to when the batter is out on an IF? I maintain that it is when the status of the ball becomes known.)
Effect:
A. The ball is dead.
B. The runner is out.
C. The BR is awarded first base.


Only Effect "F" would result in 2 outs on this play if the ball was not caught.
F. If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball, fair or foul, with ordinary effort, the batter is also out.
If F3 was a rules guru and after the interference simply let the ball fall, could that warrant the 2 outs call?

Same or different for baseball?

RKBUmp Sat Sep 10, 2016 08:51pm

Batter is already out on the iff, the ball becomes dead immediately upon the interference and the runner is also out for the interference.

umpjim Sat Sep 10, 2016 11:55pm

Sounds like they they screwed up:

"

If interference is called during an Infield Fly, the ball remains alive until it is determined whether the ball is fair or foul. If fair, both the runner who interfered with the fielder and the bat- ter are out. If foul, even if caught, the runner is out and the bat- ter returns to bat."

CecilOne Sun Sep 11, 2016 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 990645)
Sounds like they they screwed up:

"

If interference is called during an Infield Fly, the ball remains alive until it is determined whether the ball is fair or foul. If fair, both the runner who interfered with the fielder and the bat- ter are out. If foul, even if caught, the runner is out and the bat- ter returns to bat."

Citation, please.

RKBUmp Sun Sep 11, 2016 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 990645)
Sounds like they they screwed up:

"

If interference is called during an Infield Fly, the ball remains alive until it is determined whether the ball is fair or foul. If fair, both the runner who interfered with the fielder and the bat- ter are out. If foul, even if caught, the runner is out and the bat- ter returns to bat."

The ball becomes dead immediately upon the act of interference. If the ball is over fair territory at that time, the status of the ball is fair for purposes of the ruling. You do not leave the ball live and wait to see what happens.

umpjim Sun Sep 11, 2016 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 990649)
The ball becomes dead immediately upon the act of interference. If the ball is over fair territory at that time, the status of the ball is fair for purposes of the ruling. You do not leave the ball live and wait to see what happens.

OBR does. The cite is from IFF definitions in the OBR rules. Added a few years ago after a play that was called that way but only by MLB interps.
So the question is whether the OP was an infield fly.

RKBUmp Sun Sep 11, 2016 09:15am

The play presented was an mlb game, but the question was in reference to how it should be called in ASA softball.

umpjim Sun Sep 11, 2016 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 990655)
The play presented was an mlb game, but the question was in reference to how it should be called in ASA softball.

He had a baseball question also.

umpjim Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:06am

Also in regard to the right arm point, U1 was pointing to the INT. U2 definitely was pointing the infield fly and the crew kicked it unless they reversed the infield fly. But Wendelstedt did not like the current ruling in their manual a few years ago and would have preferred to call it like ASA. But MLB codified the current rule. But the result should have been 2 out no matter which mechanic you use unless they wiped off the infield fly. Luckily no protest.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1