The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   live ball appeal (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101581-live-ball-appeal.html)

Tru_in_Blu Fri Aug 26, 2016 08:22am

live ball appeal
 
ASA slow pitch game, 2 umpires. I am on the bases.

Runners on first and second, no outs.

Batter hit a line drive to fairly deep right-center where 2 outfielders converged.

As I started to come inside the diamond, I glanced at the runner at first base who was not holding and starting to advance.

I took a look at the outfielders and saw a slight collision between the fielders, with one of them making a catch, falling to the ground, and then holding the ball up in his glove showing that he made a catch.

At this point, the runner from first was about half-way to second base. As I turned, I noticed that the runner from second base was about 20 feet off the base and had started to run towards third base.

Infielders called for the ball to be thrown to second base. As the relay was coming in, the runner from second base proceeded to go home and no throw was made there. An infielder took the throw from the outfielder and stepped on second base for a live ball appeal.

I was about 15 feet away from second base inside the diamond. I called the runner out.

Offense coach asked if I could check w/ my partner claiming the runner from second had tagged up. We got together and I asked PU if he saw the runner tag up. He stated that his focus was on the play in the outfield and the collision and to make sure there was a catch. He said he only saw the runner from second in his peripheral vision, but thought that he had tagged up, but wasn't 100% sure. So I changed my initial call to safe, and the run counted.

Now to my thoughts and questions:

On tag ups, I'm clear that PU has lead runner and BU has trail runner(s). I buttonhooked inside counter-clockwise to have a view of the runner at first base. When I had completed the roughly 180 degree turn, I picked up the runner from second out of the corner of my eye.

When the live ball appeal was made, I made the call. Was this the proper protocol/mechanic? If it was a line drive to F6 and then a throw to F4 for a double play I'd have no doubts about making this call. Certainly, I wouldn't defer to PU to make that call.

But when asked to check with my partner, I was thinking that the runner at second base was the PU's responsibility. As such, I thought it proper to allow his opinion to decide the play. As a result, I changed my original call.

I was perhaps 60% certain that the runner had not tagged up given where he was when I turned from viewing the catch. I'm not sure what percentage of certainty the PU had only that he wasn't 100% sure.

Was I correct in deferring to his opinion?

BlueDevilRef Fri Aug 26, 2016 08:40am

Never guess an out and never take that initial call. The live ball appeal was your partners call and he should have lined it up to get a view of the catch and the lead runner tag.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Aug 26, 2016 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 990188)
Never guess an out and never take that initial call. The live ball appeal was your partners call and he should have lined it up to get a view of the catch and the lead runner tag.

And this would also be true on the line drive catch by F6 flipping to F4 for a DP with runners on first and second?

jmkupka Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:05am

Good question, and one that'll send this thread on a tangent.
I'm in C, shoestring liner to F4. It hits bottom and bounces up into the glove. Since I'm at 90 degrees to the batted ball (and PU is straightlined), I clearly see that there was leather under the ball when it hit. PU signals no catch.

The different versions of chaos that can happen here are numerous. Runners (knowing it was caught) don't run, but then are called out when forced. F6 (thinking doubling R1 off 2B) only gets one out, etc.

What is the mechanic here?

IRISHMAFIA Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990187)
ASA slow pitch game, 2 umpires. I am on the bases.

Runners on first and second, no outs.

Batter hit a line drive to fairly deep right-center where 2 outfielders converged.

As I started to come inside the diamond, I glanced at the runner at first base who was not holding and starting to advance.

I took a look at the outfielders and saw a slight collision between the fielders, with one of them making a catch, falling to the ground, and then holding the ball up in his glove showing that he made a catch.

At this point, the runner from first was about half-way to second base. As I turned, I noticed that the runner from second base was about 20 feet off the base and had started to run towards third base.

Infielders called for the ball to be thrown to second base. As the relay was coming in, the runner from second base proceeded to go home and no throw was made there. An infielder took the throw from the outfielder and stepped on second base for a live ball appeal.

I was about 15 feet away from second base inside the diamond. I called the runner out.

Offense coach asked if I could check w/ my partner claiming the runner from second had tagged up. We got together and I asked PU if he saw the runner tag up. He stated that his focus was on the play in the outfield and the collision and to make sure there was a catch. He said he only saw the runner from second in his peripheral vision, but thought that he had tagged up, but wasn't 100% sure. So I changed my initial call to safe, and the run counted.

Now to my thoughts and questions:

On tag ups, I'm clear that PU has lead runner and BU has trail runner(s). I buttonhooked inside counter-clockwise to have a view of the runner at first base. When I had completed the roughly 180 degree turn, I picked up the runner from second out of the corner of my eye.

When the live ball appeal was made, I made the call. Was this the proper protocol/mechanic? If it was a line drive to F6 and then a throw to F4 for a double play I'd have no doubts about making this call. Certainly, I wouldn't defer to PU to make that call.

But when asked to check with my partner, I was thinking that the runner at second base was the PU's responsibility. As such, I thought it proper to allow his opinion to decide the play. As a result, I changed my original call.

I was perhaps 60% certain that the runner had not tagged up given where he was when I turned from viewing the catch. I'm not sure what percentage of certainty the PU had only that he wasn't 100% sure.

Was I correct in deferring to his opinion?

Actually, BU is responsible for both runners in this case. Your priority should be R1 (lead runner). The moment you saw the ball reach the glove (remember, the catch is not your priority here), you should glance at 2nd then 1st to check the runners. I know it can be difficult coming inside and watch the ball at the same time, but you need to be aware of the location of a ball in flight.

If unsure, it never hurts to check with your partner. Even though the PU has the ball, s/he could still help with the runners' actions prior to the event in the OF and offer some insight there.

BlueDevilRef Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:28am

No. This one would be right in front of you. I said in "that" call in the OP. If you are hooking in, you don't have a view on it. Your partner should have.

Not sure which way you turned but I learned long ago, when I am in C with a ball hit to right side of outfield, I open up to that side as I hook, so in the original OP, I would have had a view of both runners and catch. I only learned to do that after working with a few guys would never watch either tag there bc "it was easier for me to see it".

Tru_in_Blu Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 990194)
Not sure which way you turned but I learned long ago, when I am in C with a ball hit to right side of outfield, I open up to that side as I hook, so in the original OP, I would have had a view of both runners and catch. I only learned to do that after working with a few guys would never watch either tag there bc "it was easier for me to see it".

I stated that I came inside and buttonhooked counter-clockwise. For the uninitiated, that would be turning towards my left to focus on the runner at first.

If you're in "C" for a slow pitch game, you'll need to review your mechanics. :rolleyes:

Tru_in_Blu Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 990193)
Actually, BU is responsible for both runners in this case. Your priority should be R1 (lead runner). The moment you saw the ball reach the glove (remember, the catch is not your priority here), you should glance at 2nd then 1st to check the runners. I know it can be difficult coming inside and watch the ball at the same time, but you need to be aware of the location of a ball in flight.

If unsure, it never hurts to check with your partner. Even though the PU has the ball, s/he could still help with the runners' actions prior to the event in the OF and offer some insight there.

I went back to check on tag-up responsibilities. I apparently defaulted to the NFHS version of this mechanic. In ASA, the BU does indeed have both runners when they're on first and second.

So at some point be it clinic or actual practice and in pre-gaming, (collective) we always give the responsibility of the lead runner to PU.

Re-learning the ASA method, I'll have to decide whether to introduce this to our umpire group. I think we've all become accustomed to the NFHS version (and not all our guys work HS ball).

AtlUmpSteve Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990197)
I went back to check on tag-up responsibilities. I apparently defaulted to the NFHS version of this mechanic. In ASA, the BU does indeed have both runners when they're on first and second.

So at some point be it clinic or actual practice and in pre-gaming, (collective) we always give the responsibility of the lead runner to PU.

Re-learning the ASA method, I'll have to decide whether to introduce this to our umpire group. I think we've all become accustomed to the NFHS version (and not all our guys work HS ball).

Oh, there's more to it than that; ASA mechanics differ in this case between fastpitch and slowpitch!! The mantra of "we do everything for consistency, even if it's not as good" changes this mechanic between the two games.

ASA Slowpitch (and NCAA, interestingly); BU has tag responsibility for both runners on 1st and 2nd, PU has no tag, lead runner to third.

ASA Fastpitch (and NFHS); PU has tag on 2nd, and that runner to third, BU has tag at 1st, any play at 1st or 2nd, last runner to 3rd.

BlueDevilRef Fri Aug 26, 2016 12:36pm

My bad. I totally spaced that this was slow pitch. I've never had a partner in working slo pitch but I've only ever done old man church league stuff that wasn't sanctioned by a governing body.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Aug 26, 2016 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990197)
I went back to check on tag-up responsibilities. I apparently defaulted to the NFHS version of this mechanic. In ASA, the BU does indeed have both runners when they're on first and second.

So at some point be it clinic or actual practice and in pre-gaming, (collective) we always give the responsibility of the lead runner to PU.

Re-learning the ASA method, I'll have to decide whether to introduce this to our umpire group. I think we've all become accustomed to the NFHS version (and not all our guys work HS ball).

Only problem with changing up mechanics locally is that if you have someone from your group travel outside your area, they are going to have to remember the real mechanics.

I know that to some UICs, one of the worst things you can start an explanation with are, "Well, at home we....." :)

CecilOne Fri Aug 26, 2016 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990197)
I went back to check on tag-up responsibilities. I apparently defaulted to the NFHS version of this mechanic. In ASA, the BU does indeed have both runners when they're on first and second.

So at some point be it clinic or actual practice and in pre-gaming, (collective) we always give the responsibility of the lead runner to PU.

Re-learning the ASA method, I'll have to decide whether to introduce this to our umpire group. I think we've all become accustomed to the NFHS version (and not all our guys work HS ball).

AFAIK, NFHS and ASA fast pitch are the same mechanics.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 990198)
Oh, there's more to it than that; ASA mechanics differ in this case between fastpitch and slowpitch!! The mantra of "we do everything for consistency, even if it's not as good" changes this mechanic between the two games.

ASA Slowpitch (and NCAA, interestingly); BU has tag responsibility for both runners on 1st and 2nd, PU has no tag, lead runner to third.

ASA Fastpitch (and NFHS); PU has tag on 2nd, and that runner to third, BU has tag at 1st, any play at 1st or 2nd, last runner to 3rd.

My thinking is that it would be easier for BU to take tag responsibility for both runners in the FP game since moving in from "C" sorta has both runners in the ump's field of vision. Taking both from "B" requires some serious head-swiveling. (Yes, primary responsibility is the runner from second but can't totally ignore runner at first.)

Now that we've straightened the tag responsibilities out, I'd like to go back to my question on the live ball appeal. This would apply only to the situation in the FP game.

With runners on first and second and less than 2 outs, who should make the live ball appeal call on a runner leaving too early at second base?

The mechanic says the PU is responsible for the tag up on the runner on 2B.

And it also says the BU is responsible for any play at 2B.

On the line drive in the infield, I think 99% of BUs make that call. But on the play in the outfield, with a collision and a possible dropped ball, who takes it and how quickly? BU should be watching runner from first and BR.

When the defense quickly gets the ball in and appeals the runner from 2B left early, should the PU immediately make that call? My concern is that 2 umpires are left looking at each other waiting for the other to make the call - even if pre-gamed.

Andy Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:08am

The umpire that has tag-up responsibility should be the umpire that is making any appeal call at that base.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Aug 29, 2016 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 990252)
The umpire that has tag-up responsibility should be the umpire that is making any appeal call at that base.

So in a FP game w/ runners on first and second and no outs, batter hits a line drive to F1 who catches it and throws to F4 to double up the runner off second base.

You claim that PU makes the call on the catch AND the live ball appeal at second base?

youngump Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990257)
So in a FP game w/ runners on first and second and no outs, batter hits a line drive to F1 who catches it and throws to F4 to double up the runner off second base.

You claim that PU makes the call on the catch AND the live ball appeal at second base?

Without regard to how it should be done, isn't that what the book says?

teebob21 Tue Aug 30, 2016 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 990271)
Without regard to how it should be done, isn't that what the book says?

Tru has raised an excellent point. R1 and R2, base umpire in the C position behind F6. On an caught infield line drive where the runners have left the base before the batted ball is touched, the book says the PU makes the call at 2B? I assure you this gets called by every BU partner I've ever worked with. Semi-applicable MLB video example: Bryant's line-drive double play | MLB.com

While this IS a live-ball appeal, it's not a "tag-up & advance" appeal, which is probably what Andy was referring to.

youngump Tue Aug 30, 2016 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 990272)
Tru has raised an excellent point. R1 and R2, base umpire in the C position behind F6. On an caught infield line drive where the runners have left the base before the batted ball is touched, the book says the PU makes the call at 2B? I assure you this gets called by every BU partner I've ever worked with. Semi-applicable MLB video example: Bryant's line-drive double play | MLB.com

While this IS a live-ball appeal, it's not a "tag-up & advance" appeal, which is probably what Andy was referring to.

I pregame out of this for the call at third. Never even thought of the call at 2nd mattering. I tried to pre-game out of this with our UIC and she told me I should just go with the assignments in the book.

But take this a step further, if you are following the book and the appeal is executed by tagging the runner while off the bag. Whose call? It's indistinguishable from the first play. (It's an out whether an appeal or not.)

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 30, 2016 05:59pm

Well, actually the mechanics you are citing are for tag up responsibilities. IMO, the attempt to double off R1 on a line drive, is the first play in the infield and belongs to the BU

youngump Tue Aug 30, 2016 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 990283)
Well, actually the mechanics you are citing are for tag up responsibilities. IMO, the attempt to double off R1 on a line drive, is the first play in the infield and belongs to the BU

If the throw is to the fielder who takes it by tagging the bag, how can you think of it as anything besides the appeal of the tag play? I mean it's obvious to everyone in the park that she left early. That said, that's my pregame: let's treat any tag up that occurs that looks like a play and use the play mechanics instead of the appeal mechanics. I think it makes total sense I just don't think it's what the book says.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Aug 31, 2016 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 990283)
Well, actually the mechanics you are citing are for tag up responsibilities. IMO, the attempt to double off R1 on a line drive, is the first play in the infield and belongs to the BU

Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?

AtlUmpSteve Wed Aug 31, 2016 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990298)
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?

One of the most often misstated (and missed on the field) mechanics. First play in the infield relates to batted balls that are first fielded by an infielder, making what NFHS calls an initial play. Any ball first fielded by an outfielder is either fly ball coverage, or base hit coverage (even if a force play to 3rd by F7!!).

CecilOne Wed Aug 31, 2016 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990298)
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?

At 3rd, even if first play, from the OF is PU.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Aug 31, 2016 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 990305)
At 3rd, even if first play, from the OF is PU.

So we are in violent agreement. :D

IRISHMAFIA Wed Aug 31, 2016 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 990284)
If the throw is to the fielder who takes it by tagging the bag, how can you think of it as anything besides the appeal of the tag play? I mean it's obvious to everyone in the park that she left early. That said, that's my pregame: let's treat any tag up that occurs that looks like a play and use the play mechanics instead of the appeal mechanics. I think it makes total sense I just don't think it's what the book says.

Where did I state it wasn't an appeal play?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990298)
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?

How can a ball fielded by an OF be considered the "first throw in the infield"?

Tru_in_Blu Thu Sep 01, 2016 06:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 990315)
How can a ball fielded by an OF be considered the "first throw in the infield"?

It's not, obviously. I'll go back to (FP):

With runners on first and second and less than 2 outs, who should make the live ball appeal call on a runner leaving too early at second base?

The mechanic says the PU is responsible for the tag up on the runner on 2B.

And it also says the BU is responsible for any play at 2B.

Appeal play: A play on a rule violation on which an umpire may not make a decision until requested by a manager, coach or player.

Play: An attempt by a defensive player to retire an offensive player. A pitch is not considered a play except as it relates to an appeal.

I'll propose that a live ball appeal at second base that originated from a throw from an outfielder is a "play" and should be called by the BU.

If play has ceased, ball returned to F1 in the circle, and then the defense properly appeals, this would result in a dead ball appeal and I'd suggest that this call belongs to the PU.

youngump Thu Sep 01, 2016 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 990316)
It's not, obviously. I'll go back to (FP):

With runners on first and second and less than 2 outs, who should make the live ball appeal call on a runner leaving too early at second base?

The mechanic says the PU is responsible for the tag up on the runner on 2B.

And it also says the BU is responsible for any play at 2B.

Appeal play: A play on a rule violation on which an umpire may not make a decision until requested by a manager, coach or player.

Play: An attempt by a defensive player to retire an offensive player. A pitch is not considered a play except as it relates to an appeal.

I'll propose that a live ball appeal at second base that originated from a throw from an outfielder is a "play" and should be called by the BU.

If play has ceased, ball returned to F1 in the circle, and then the defense properly appeals, this would result in a dead ball appeal and I'd suggest that this call belongs to the PU.

All appeal plays are plays but not all plays are appeal plays :D.

I appreciate where you're trying to get with this and I think it's basically right as to result.

But if the runner at 2nd does tag but just leaves a touch before the ball is caught, that's not meant to be taken by the BU even if that appeal is the first play. Now if everybody in the park saw her leave early and the only question is whether the ball beat her to the bag, we definitely have a call that should belong to the BU. But I don't think that distinction (nor the one you propose) is actually what the mechanics say (as a result of inartful drafting). The mechanics just say that some tag up appeals belong to the PU. And many times they assign the play that would correspond to that appeal to the BU.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 990318)
All appeal plays are plays but not all plays are appeal plays :D.

I appreciate where you're trying to get with this and I think it's basically right as to result.

But if the runner at 2nd does tag but just leaves a touch before the ball is caught, that's not meant to be taken by the BU even if that appeal is the first play. Now if everybody in the park saw her leave early and the only question is whether the ball beat her to the bag, we definitely have a call that should belong to the BU. But I don't think that distinction (nor the one you propose) is actually what the mechanics say (as a result of inartful drafting). The mechanics just say that some tag up appeals belong to the PU. And many times they assign the play that would correspond to that appeal to the BU.


Speaking ASA, it should be noted that there is an inconsistency as some of the sections of the mechanics refer to coverage on a "fly ball to the outfield" while others note "fly ball coverage". IMO, that is an indication the references are to balls to the outfield.

AFA balls in the infield, there is no assignment of any type of appeal responsibilities outside of the normal play & base assignments.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Apr 14, 2017 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 990198)
Oh, there's more to it than that; ASA mechanics differ in this case between fastpitch and slowpitch!! The mantra of "we do everything for consistency, even if it's not as good" changes this mechanic between the two games.

ASA Slowpitch (and NCAA, interestingly); BU has tag responsibility for both runners on 1st and 2nd, PU has no tag, lead runner to third.

ASA Fastpitch (and NFHS); PU has tag on 2nd, and that runner to third, BU has tag at 1st, any play at 1st or 2nd, last runner to 3rd.

Apparently this has been changed in the 2017 USA Umpire Manual. It's noted on page 66, under the fly ball coverage. PU now has tag up at 2B. That section is in grey highlight so they did indicate that this is a change.

Nice. I think this makes more sense.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1