![]() |
Look back rule - ASA 8-7-T
I need a refresher on a specific situation with the look-back rule. What are the obligations of runners after the BR has reached first base and continues to run? A strict reading of the rule makes me think that once the ball is in the circle and the BR has reached or passed 1B, all runners are under the LB rule.
Situation: R3 on 3B. BR walks on ball 4, reaches 1B and continues nonstop to second. The ball is in the circle, no play on either runner made by F1. R3 advances 8-10 feet towards HP as BR continues toward 2B. R3 starts "dancing", hopping forward and back several times in an attempt to draw a throw. Out or no? As plate umpire, I called a Dead Ball when I saw this. I immediately thought I had goofed: this was a 3-umpire game and that runner should have been the responsibility of my U3....PLUS I brainlocked on the rule (thus this post). We hand-waved away the dead ball and life went on with runners at 2B and 3B. My partners think we got it right on the field. I think I should have called the out and returned the BR to 1B, even if that means stepping on my partner's primary call. (Which I apologized for in postgame...) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I can admit that I've never pregamed LBR coverages. I will do so in the future. Two questions: (1) Should I have gotten my partners together on the field to make the right call, after I called the dead ball and a bit of confusion broke out? (2) Should this happen again, and the U3 misses or ignores it, what should the crew do? Let U3 eat it? |
Quote:
This is one of those calls that we don't make very often and with multiple runners, it may be a good idea to get your crew together to talk through the call and the penalty since some of the crew may have been focused elsewhere or moving to cover a potential play. This would be similar to what we are asked to do in the college game when we have a DDB call like an illegal pitch or a runner leaving the base prior to the pitch. As I mentioned above, any umpire can kill the play and make the LBR call. If you are 100% certain that it was you have, I would give my U3 a chance to call it first, then come in strong with the call if U3 doesn't. |
Since I don't use the LBR as a "gotcha", precise timing is not required (unlike, say, tagging up on a fly ball). I have never had a problem keeping an eye on all runners, even when the BR going to 1B is loading the bases.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36pm. |